Zucchini Grinders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were fabulous!! I added the sauce right to the fried onion/zucchini mixture, tossed in some seasoning (salt, pepper, italian, and penzey pizza). They were so good I'm making them two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I altered this a bit. I sautéed zucchini, mushrooms, onion and garlic. The crushed red pepper is a must! I also mixed in a meat pasta sauce and made quesadillas with mozzarella. A definite repeat in this house!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I added some hot Italian sausage and used cheddar cheese it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I modified this a little - okay, a lot. I shredded the zucchini, shredded a carrot, and took the advice of another reviewer and added finely diced onion. Cooked in a pinch of butter and a bit of EVOO. Salted it and added a bit of minced garlic. Naturally, the moisture come out and it took about 15 min to cook out. Definitely let it brown in the pan - be patient. The onion, as it caramelized, brought my dish to a great new level. Oh so delish! And from here I diverge even farther from this recipe. I just put my finished mixture between a croissant - no spaghetti sauce or mozz. added - though I'm sure that would be tasty. To sum this all up, this is great and tasty recipe, just add some onion to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I prepared this as a casserole instead of a sandwich, but I'll definitely try the 'grinder' version! I Added diced onions as quite a few reviewers suggested; also added a few cloves of fresh garlic, fresh basil, oregano and curly parsley from the garden; Left out the cheese; substituted a can of 'diced tomatoes w/ roasted garlic and onions' for the sauce, then baked uncovered in a casserole dish for 15 minutes at 350 F. I sprinkled the top with freshly grated Parmesan cheese and returned to the oven for another 5 minutes, then served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent! I used toasted sour dough bread and Parmesan cheese. didn't have mozzarella or Italian rolls. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Super easy and very good! I sauteed onions with the zucchini - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This one is a keeper. I substituted fire roasted tomato sauce for the tomato and basil sauce for a little extra kick. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was amazing! I am not a huge zucchini fan so I was nervous about the dish revolving around zucchini, but I was so impressed. I did make a few slight changes. 20 minutes in the oven was way too long for my kids to wait for lunch so I threw the sandwiches in the microwave to melt the cheese and then put them in the oven, without the foil, just to crisp them up a little bit. They turned out great and it was a great time-saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Quick, easy and very yummy! I definitely got my serving of veggies for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Zucchini

There are lots of ways to use everyone's favorite summer squash.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States