Zucchini Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Could not wait to make this! Only changes I made were to use applesauce instead of oil, and I turned down the oven heat to 350 once I put pans in (thought 425 way too high for baking.) This makes a very moist and tasty bread, more of a spice bread than a gingerbread. You do not even know there is zucchini in it after it finished baking. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I was excited about this recipe too. I love gingerbread. I replaced the oil with pumpkin. I added 3/4 c. currants (because I needed to use them) and when I got to my zucchini (thawed and drained) there wasn't quite 2 1/2 cups so I filled in with grated carrot. I'll make this often! Thanks Sarah-May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Note from the Allrecipes.com editorial staff: 9/12/11 We chaged the baking temperature from 425 to 325 degrees at the submitter's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time, doubling the recipe as I had so much zucchini to transform into something delicious. And this was the trick! This is not the typical zucchini bread that I often find dense, sweet and oily. It is a wonderfully light and spicy gingerbread. At an elevation of 7600' I sometimes have to adjust recipes, but this worked fine just as written. The only difference is that I used 8 1/5" X 4 1/5" pans, and even doubling the recipe I only got 3 full-sized loaves and 1 half-sized loaf. I like this so much that I will be freezing some grated zucchini to make it later in the fall and into the winter. This is definitely a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I wish I'd copied the recipe after the temp change was made; but good I was keeping an eye on the pan (I made one bundt cake out of the batch) while it was baking. At 425 it came out pretty dark and crispy; but the inside is still light and fluffy. I, too, had a ton of zucchini to use up (yes - people DO actually leave ginormous zucchini in your car if you leave it unlocked). I then made a double batch (in the oven now) and forgot to double the eggs! We'll see what happens. If it works, I'll get back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This a fantastic recipe! I only had a cup and a half of zucchini. I used a cup of fresh plums to make up for the rest. I also increased the ginger to 3 tsp. The bread came out moist and tangy (from the plums). OH MY GOD SOOOOOO GOOD! thank you so much Sarah- May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe! My kitchen was rather bare, though, so I substituted a couple things: subbed sour cream for the yogurt and butter for the oil. The bread turned our great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was great! I used a tablespoon of vanilla and sour cream for the vanilla yogurt. Made me feel like it was the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe fairly closely, except that I used a Korean squash from my MIL's garden, and swapped 1 c. of whole wheat flour, with excellent results. Very moist with great gingerbread flavor - everyone loved it. I had never cooked Korean squash before and wasn't sure it would turn out, but you couldn't tell the difference. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Soooooooooo good. I wouldn't change a thing--THANK YOU Sarah-May!!! The crumb was so moist and the warm-cinnamony gingerbread aroma was AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States