Zucchini Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Could not wait to make this! Only changes I made were to use applesauce instead of oil, and I turned down the oven heat to 350 once I put pans in (thought 425 way too high for baking.) This makes a very moist and tasty bread, more of a spice bread than a gingerbread. You do not even know there is zucchini in it after it finished baking. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I was excited about this recipe too. I love gingerbread. I replaced the oil with pumpkin. I added 3/4 c. currants (because I needed to use them) and when I got to my zucchini (thawed and drained) there wasn't quite 2 1/2 cups so I filled in with grated carrot. I'll make this often! Thanks Sarah-May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Note from the Allrecipes.com editorial staff: 9/12/11 We chaged the baking temperature from 425 to 325 degrees at the submitter's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time, doubling the recipe as I had so much zucchini to transform into something delicious. And this was the trick! This is not the typical zucchini bread that I often find dense, sweet and oily. It is a wonderfully light and spicy gingerbread. At an elevation of 7600' I sometimes have to adjust recipes, but this worked fine just as written. The only difference is that I used 8 1/5" X 4 1/5" pans, and even doubling the recipe I only got 3 full-sized loaves and 1 half-sized loaf. I like this so much that I will be freezing some grated zucchini to make it later in the fall and into the winter. This is definitely a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I wish I'd copied the recipe after the temp change was made; but good I was keeping an eye on the pan (I made one bundt cake out of the batch) while it was baking. At 425 it came out pretty dark and crispy; but the inside is still light and fluffy. I, too, had a ton of zucchini to use up (yes - people DO actually leave ginormous zucchini in your car if you leave it unlocked). I then made a double batch (in the oven now) and forgot to double the eggs! We'll see what happens. If it works, I'll get back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This a fantastic recipe! I only had a cup and a half of zucchini. I used a cup of fresh plums to make up for the rest. I also increased the ginger to 3 tsp. The bread came out moist and tangy (from the plums). OH MY GOD SOOOOOO GOOD! thank you so much Sarah- May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe! My kitchen was rather bare, though, so I substituted a couple things: subbed sour cream for the yogurt and butter for the oil. The bread turned our great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was great! I used a tablespoon of vanilla and sour cream for the vanilla yogurt. Made me feel like it was the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Short

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Soooooooooo good. I wouldn't change a thing--THANK YOU Sarah-May!!! The crumb was so moist and the warm-cinnamony gingerbread aroma was AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I used buttercup squash from my garden in place of the zucchini and it was delicious! I also tried this bread with sour cream in place of the yogurt and added pure vanilla extract (I did not have vanilla yogurt on hand) and it was just as good. I omitted the cloves, I don't care for their overpowering taste. Great versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States