Zucchini for Lunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was very tasty! Made for an enjoyable lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Zucchini for Lunch Haiku: "Eggs an after-thought. Tomato sauce was wierd too. Unusual dish." Well, I salvaged my leftovers by mixing them into omelets for the next day's breakfast, b/c the 2 eggs in this just got lost amongst the veggies. The scrambled egg & tomato sauce became a kind of clumpy shade of "brain" pink, making this not the most attractive meal, but it was a great way to use the chubby zucchini that I'd just plucked from the garden. If I made this again, I'd swap tomato sauce for diced tomato, add minced garlic, S&P (I had to eat mine w/ considerable splashes of Sriracha due to its ho-hum taste), and increase the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was really good, but I made several changes. First off, I sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil, when that browned I added one small zucchini and one small summer squash, chopped. I didn't have a red pepper, but I did add a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. This added a nice smoky flavor, along with a little heat. I used egg whites and salsa instead of the tomato sauce, I didn't have any... Then when it was all done I topped with a little shredded cheddar cheese. Ummm Ummm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I really liked this for a quick light healthy lunch! I did make a couple changes and additions though. I used olive oilinstead of vegetable oil, a green pepper instead of red, and 3 green onions instead of a regular onion. I also only used the whites of the eggs. I added a serrano pepper, 5 halved cherry tomatoes, and 2 tablespoons of low fat cottage cheese. The sauce was a bit too much for me, so next time i will minus the cherry tomatoes and use a can of diced or stewed tomatoes as the sauce. I also topped it with a bit of shredded Dubliner cheese! This recipe was a great basis to start from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrica
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was quick, easy and tasty. I made a few changes - used tofu instead of eggs and added some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I've been making a form of this for years, but I never considered adding eggs! Great idea! I try to eat low-carb, therefore, I don't eat bread. This is a great lunch idea. Can also top with some cheese! I usually add mushrooms, too, or whatever fresh veggies I have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I didnt find this to be ugly looking at all, in fact I thought it was very pretty looking. I didn't however care for the taste. The favors didn't really blend or go together much, and I found it to be a bit bland, even with the addition of some garlic & black pepper. Not a waste of my ingredients or time, but nothing some craving to have again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used mushrooms instead of onions/peppers and olive oil instead of vegetable. Used leftover spaghetti sauce flavored with meat. Sprinkled a little parmesan on top. REALLY good and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was a differnt way of making zucchini forsure but it was good. A little bland so I added salt and pepper. next time I will had in fresh minched garlic to give it a kick. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
delicious mush, and only 10 minutes to make. i added chopped garlic and crushed red pepper to the eggs. also, used less tomato sauce, but added a chopped tomato at the same time. it may not look like much, but it's a great tummy filler when that's all you have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States