Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
One of my favorite recipes already! I used all fresh quality ingredients, minus the tomatos the first time because mine had gone bad. You can bet I am going to make this again soon with the tomatos and over and over again. I am looking forward to bringing this as a dish to the next party we are invited to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Phil, this was awesome! My husband even ate it and I would have bet against him evey trying it. The flavors were perfect. I used fresh mozzarella and I didn't actually measure the ingredients. I cut the recipe down and only used one zucchini and 3 Roma tomatoes, all fresh from the garden. I'll be making this one again VERY soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I did end up using a little more oil just so the zucchini/squash wasn't too dry frying. It was extremely easy and cheap, which I like. I made mine the night before to take with me to my parents the next night. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect! I will definitely be making this again, especially on the weekend or if I have time the night before so that I all I have to do is throw it in with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpinkprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Really yummy. I actually only used 2 zucchini's thinly sliced and sauted/browned in EVOO. I did two layers - zucchini/garlic, 2 oz mozz, tomato, zucchini, 2 oz mozz, basil, tom and then topped with a cup of grated Parm. Light and yummy. I calculated about 310 calories per serving, but that is because I needed more oil since doing zucchini in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Work for a construction company as one of their out of town cooks and the guys just loved this. Thankyou :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In the great Outdoors Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Loved this! Great use of summer staples. I thought I had mozzarella in the fridge but it turns out it was muenster - so I used it anyway. It was great. I did half of the topping as directed, but on half I mixed in a couple of Tablespoons of Italian seasoned bread crumbs with the Parmesan. Very yummy - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I'm not a big fan of tomatoes, so I only used organic zucchinis. I sautéed them on high less than 8 minutes, probably 3 minutes per side, because I was afraid they would turn "mushy". The fresh basil complements and gives this dish a really nice flavor. Thanks Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was awesome and a great way to use up zucchini in the summer. My husband doesn't usually like zucchini and he loved it! I only sauteed the zucchini about 2 minutes per side, and I used havarti cheese instead of mozzarella since that's all I had. It was delicious - potluck or even holiday-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DH and I really enjoyed this. Although I love zucchini, in many recipes the mild flavor gets lost or covered by stronger flavors. That is not the case here. The zucchini is just as much of a star as the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I also love that the ingredients are those that I usually have on hand. Very easy to prepare, pretty presentation and delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding approx. 1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs to the cheese/basil topping. I will happily prepare this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was great! My zucchini was huge, so I quartered it and then cut into quarter inch slices. I used deli mozzarela cheese that I cut into quarters. The parmesan and basil topping was amazing! I loved this dish and will definitely be making it again. Thanks Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States