Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
very good stuff! after a trial run prior to bird day, i made a couple small changes. i fried about 6 pieces of bacon, fried some onion and the garlic in the butter and some bacon grease then proceeded with the recipe. i'll add more bacon next time. i crumbled the bacon and covered with the cheeses. big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Loved this! Great use of summer staples. I thought I had mozzarella in the fridge but it turns out it was muenster - so I used it anyway. It was great. I did half of the topping as directed, but on half I mixed in a couple of Tablespoons of Italian seasoned bread crumbs with the Parmesan. Very yummy - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Really yummy. I actually only used 2 zucchini's thinly sliced and sauted/browned in EVOO. I did two layers - zucchini/garlic, 2 oz mozz, tomato, zucchini, 2 oz mozz, basil, tom and then topped with a cup of grated Parm. Light and yummy. I calculated about 310 calories per serving, but that is because I needed more oil since doing zucchini in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
One of my favorite recipes already! I used all fresh quality ingredients, minus the tomatos the first time because mine had gone bad. You can bet I am going to make this again soon with the tomatos and over and over again. I am looking forward to bringing this as a dish to the next party we are invited to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this now two times. The first time I did half the recipe and had to cook the zucchini in 3 batches. I cooked on medium but, I still had to rinse the pan with some hot water in between batches to avoid scorched garlic. I also don't usually have fresh basil, so I subtituted dry basil. My bottle said 1 Tablespoon of fresh = 1 teaspoon of dry. I figured it did not matter because it was going to be baked anyway in this recipe. I ate the gratin with a ribeye steak that day. It takes a little time, but it did make an elegant meal. The second time I tried another quicker version. I roasted the first 3 ingredients in the oven first. After about 20 minutes, or when the zucchini was very lightly browned, I removed from the oven and added the rest of the ingredients and then baked the additonal amount of time. It did not display as well as the original recipe, but equally as tasty! Interesting recipe, thanks for submitting Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is really good and very simple to make AND if you are like me and have gazillions of tomato's and zucchini from your garden... well... give it a try. I add a ton more basil than they call for (literally a ton more!). And before baking it I sprinkle it with bread crumbs so it gets nice and crusty on top... OH... and I add some capers as well. Works really nicely with feta cheese if you are feta cheese lover. I sprinkle the feta on top of the zucchini and tomatoes and basil than cover the whole thing in a layer of Moz cheese. Serve with good homemade bread and you won't hear complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DH and I really enjoyed this. Although I love zucchini, in many recipes the mild flavor gets lost or covered by stronger flavors. That is not the case here. The zucchini is just as much of a star as the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I also love that the ingredients are those that I usually have on hand. Very easy to prepare, pretty presentation and delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding approx. 1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs to the cheese/basil topping. I will happily prepare this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The beauty is in it's simplicity. I laid it out just as you pictured it, Phil, and it was delicious. I served it with sliced baguettes schmeared with a mix of softened butter, parmesan, and garlic powder, toasted in the oven for 5 minutes. There's none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is simple perfection in a baking dish, and pretty quick to put it together. The only thing I had to do differently was to saute my garlic separately as it over browned when I put it in the pan with the zucchini. I just sprinkled it between the layers as I assembled the gratin. I also found that on my stove top, 8 minutes a side was quite a bit too long for the zucchini, I just cooked them until they started to soften and brown a bit. The flavors are incredible, everyone enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is fantastic! So easy to put together and so fresh tasting. I have a smaller casserole pan than a 9x13, so I used 3 ripe-on-the-vine tomatoes, 3 small zucchini and 8oz of mozzarella. I layered zucchini on the bottom, followed by the cheese, and then the tomatoes topped with dried basil and parmesan. I added the garlic only in the final minute of sauteeing the zucchini so it wouldnt burn. One tip: if you remove the seeds from the tomatoes, it will eliminate the extra juice. This is so, so good and totally a keeper. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States