Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I went to a Labor Day BBQ and everyone was asked to bring something Italian. I made this dish and it was a great hit and so delicious. As usual Phil thank you for a deliciuos dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was very good indeed. I thought that the 8 minutes specified was rather OTT (over the top) so I ignored the timing and just paid attention to the colour. This ended up at somewhere between 4 and 5 minutes as it happens, the second side doing a lot quicker than the first of course. I love the way the tastes combine and are yet individually detectable. I was surprised at how liquid it still was at the bottom of the dish, on my first try. I did it first just like that, slicing the Courgettes and then cooking them and then did the suggestion in the footnotes about drawing the liquid out first. This was a far drier result, I was quite shocked how much! So my final version nowadays is with the dried courgettes and with the breadcrumb topping suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for this, I have some vegetarian friends and am always looking for different recipes for them. This was a HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good. My family loved it. I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not too impressed. Followed the recipe. Found 8 min to be too long too cook the zucchini slices per side. Burned the earlier ones - dropped time down to 5 min per side. Very time consuming to cook the slices, (even with 2 fry pans going at the same time). Given the work involved, the overall taste, (neutral) and the calorie intake (pretty high) - I'll probably not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this now two times. The first time I did half the recipe and had to cook the zucchini in 3 batches. I cooked on medium but, I still had to rinse the pan with some hot water in between batches to avoid scorched garlic. I also don't usually have fresh basil, so I subtituted dry basil. My bottle said 1 Tablespoon of fresh = 1 teaspoon of dry. I figured it did not matter because it was going to be baked anyway in this recipe. I ate the gratin with a ribeye steak that day. It takes a little time, but it did make an elegant meal. The second time I tried another quicker version. I roasted the first 3 ingredients in the oven first. After about 20 minutes, or when the zucchini was very lightly browned, I removed from the oven and added the rest of the ingredients and then baked the additonal amount of time. It did not display as well as the original recipe, but equally as tasty! Interesting recipe, thanks for submitting Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I did end up using a little more oil just so the zucchini/squash wasn't too dry frying. It was extremely easy and cheap, which I like. I made mine the night before to take with me to my parents the next night. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect! I will definitely be making this again, especially on the weekend or if I have time the night before so that I all I have to do is throw it in with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpinkprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was great! My zucchini was huge, so I quartered it and then cut into quarter inch slices. I used deli mozzarela cheese that I cut into quarters. The parmesan and basil topping was amazing! I loved this dish and will definitely be making it again. Thanks Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Phil, this was awesome! My husband even ate it and I would have bet against him evey trying it. The flavors were perfect. I used fresh mozzarella and I didn't actually measure the ingredients. I cut the recipe down and only used one zucchini and 3 Roma tomatoes, all fresh from the garden. I'll be making this one again VERY soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DH and I really enjoyed this. Although I love zucchini, in many recipes the mild flavor gets lost or covered by stronger flavors. That is not the case here. The zucchini is just as much of a star as the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I also love that the ingredients are those that I usually have on hand. Very easy to prepare, pretty presentation and delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding approx. 1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs to the cheese/basil topping. I will happily prepare this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was awesome and a great way to use up zucchini in the summer. My husband doesn't usually like zucchini and he loved it! I only sauteed the zucchini about 2 minutes per side, and I used havarti cheese instead of mozzarella since that's all I had. It was delicious - potluck or even holiday-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States