Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good. My family loved it. I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not too impressed. Followed the recipe. Found 8 min to be too long too cook the zucchini slices per side. Burned the earlier ones - dropped time down to 5 min per side. Very time consuming to cook the slices, (even with 2 fry pans going at the same time). Given the work involved, the overall taste, (neutral) and the calorie intake (pretty high) - I'll probably not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this now two times. The first time I did half the recipe and had to cook the zucchini in 3 batches. I cooked on medium but, I still had to rinse the pan with some hot water in between batches to avoid scorched garlic. I also don't usually have fresh basil, so I subtituted dry basil. My bottle said 1 Tablespoon of fresh = 1 teaspoon of dry. I figured it did not matter because it was going to be baked anyway in this recipe. I ate the gratin with a ribeye steak that day. It takes a little time, but it did make an elegant meal. The second time I tried another quicker version. I roasted the first 3 ingredients in the oven first. After about 20 minutes, or when the zucchini was very lightly browned, I removed from the oven and added the rest of the ingredients and then baked the additonal amount of time. It did not display as well as the original recipe, but equally as tasty! Interesting recipe, thanks for submitting Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I did end up using a little more oil just so the zucchini/squash wasn't too dry frying. It was extremely easy and cheap, which I like. I made mine the night before to take with me to my parents the next night. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect! I will definitely be making this again, especially on the weekend or if I have time the night before so that I all I have to do is throw it in with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpinkprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was great! My zucchini was huge, so I quartered it and then cut into quarter inch slices. I used deli mozzarela cheese that I cut into quarters. The parmesan and basil topping was amazing! I loved this dish and will definitely be making it again. Thanks Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Phil, this was awesome! My husband even ate it and I would have bet against him evey trying it. The flavors were perfect. I used fresh mozzarella and I didn't actually measure the ingredients. I cut the recipe down and only used one zucchini and 3 Roma tomatoes, all fresh from the garden. I'll be making this one again VERY soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DH and I really enjoyed this. Although I love zucchini, in many recipes the mild flavor gets lost or covered by stronger flavors. That is not the case here. The zucchini is just as much of a star as the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I also love that the ingredients are those that I usually have on hand. Very easy to prepare, pretty presentation and delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding approx. 1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs to the cheese/basil topping. I will happily prepare this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was awesome and a great way to use up zucchini in the summer. My husband doesn't usually like zucchini and he loved it! I only sauteed the zucchini about 2 minutes per side, and I used havarti cheese instead of mozzarella since that's all I had. It was delicious - potluck or even holiday-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very good but nothing special. I served this with pasta with a homemade pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was very, very good (prob 4.5 stars) and oh so pretty! I am sure I will make it again, as it is made with items that I usually have on hand. I served this as a casserole main dish, and will have to admit that I added some slices of smoked sausage (hubby looks at me funny if there is no meat on the table lol). However, this recipe is perfect as is, and we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States