Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is really good and very simple to make AND if you are like me and have gazillions of tomato's and zucchini from your garden... well... give it a try. I add a ton more basil than they call for (literally a ton more!). And before baking it I sprinkle it with bread crumbs so it gets nice and crusty on top... OH... and I add some capers as well. Works really nicely with feta cheese if you are feta cheese lover. I sprinkle the feta on top of the zucchini and tomatoes and basil than cover the whole thing in a layer of Moz cheese. Serve with good homemade bread and you won't hear complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
You can also put large cans of tomatoes, etc. in a plastic bag and put them on top of the plate for weight. I tried that when I made Kim Chee and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was really good! The only problem that I ran into was it was very watery, maybe I should have dried the mozzarella with a paper towel? But very good recipe, even my boyfriend who isn't a huge fan of zucchini loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The beauty is in it's simplicity. I laid it out just as you pictured it, Phil, and it was delicious. I served it with sliced baguettes schmeared with a mix of softened butter, parmesan, and garlic powder, toasted in the oven for 5 minutes. There's none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Yum- so good. I made half the recipe and ate the whole pan, then realized the recipe was only written for two servings- thank goodness! Delicious and gorgeous, will make frequently! I used zucchini and yellow tomatoes from my garden. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was good...I had much more water in the bottom of the pan than I'd expected, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe was awesome, my husband and I truly enjoyed this! This was a great recipe to showcase our garden's bounty.It was very easy to make and the freshness of the ingredients is key to this recipe.Thank You Swiss Phil for sharing such a top notch recipe. I definitely will make this one again!Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I went to a Labor Day BBQ and everyone was asked to bring something Italian. I made this dish and it was a great hit and so delicious. As usual Phil thank you for a deliciuos dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was very good indeed. I thought that the 8 minutes specified was rather OTT (over the top) so I ignored the timing and just paid attention to the colour. This ended up at somewhere between 4 and 5 minutes as it happens, the second side doing a lot quicker than the first of course. I love the way the tastes combine and are yet individually detectable. I was surprised at how liquid it still was at the bottom of the dish, on my first try. I did it first just like that, slicing the Courgettes and then cooking them and then did the suggestion in the footnotes about drawing the liquid out first. This was a far drier result, I was quite shocked how much! So my final version nowadays is with the dried courgettes and with the breadcrumb topping suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for this, I have some vegetarian friends and am always looking for different recipes for them. This was a HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good. My family loved it. I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States