Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Swiss Phil
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I am the author of this recipe and I am a little upset that the description of how to present this dish is being misunderstood. The idea is to have the food arranged in alternating stripes of colours. Why? Because this is supposed to represent the Italian Flag. Stripes of green followed by stripes of white, followed by stripes of red. So take your zukes, lean them up against the wall of the baking dish and create an entire row of green - then lean a row of cheese against this, then a row of tomato ----- simple. It is NOT supposed to be layered from top to bottom. See some of the earlier pictures - 15, 20 and 26 at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
A hit with the whole family which is a rare feat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
So good. Sauteed the zucchini with garlic powder (instead of fresh garlic), added italian-seasoned bread crumbs during baking. Also, removed the seeds from the tomato before adding to recipe and the end product was not soggy at all. Great, fresh, light flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I added mushrooms! tastes like pizza to me. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this recipe for a party and was very pleased with the outcome. Taste and presentation were 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Yum, yum, & yum! We loved this! I made exactly as the recipe stated with the exception of using 1 tsp. dried basil instead of fresh. I am sure it would be even more amazing using fresh basil. I made this at the end of the summer season, so, the tomatoes were not at their summer's best, but, this dish transformed them. Definitely will be making this again. 9/5/14 Just a note - absolutely use fresh basil - it makes a HUGE difference. The basil infuses big flavor into the tomato and cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Good Grief! I have no idea why I waited so long to make this- it is simply OUTSTANDING!!! I was just about to pop a frozen veggie in the microwave, when I remembered I had just picked fresh zucchini and tomatoes from my garden. I recalled seeing this recipe and decided to try it! I could not have been more thrilled with the results. I am growing cherry tomatoes, so I halved a bunch of those. This is truly an incredibly flavorful dish, and it makes a lovely presentation. So, when my family plowed through the entire thing without hardly leaving me any behind, I decided to make myself a mini version in a ramekin. I just layered it up, baked it til warm and bubbly (I wasn't really timing it, but I would guess maybe 15 minutes), and viola- a gorgeous presentation!!! I am contemplating hosting a dinner party just to be able to serve these little ramekins of awesomeness! Thanks so much Phil...this is most definitely something I will make often and with much anticipation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious!! I halved the recipe for the two of us as a side and it was perfect. I did follow the footnote and drew liquid out of the zucchini before frying it. I had no problem with excess liquid in the bottom. We loved it and will do this one again for sure! Thanks, Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good - and easy, which is what I like. Because of that, I have been making this often. I usually just half the recipe as there are only two of us at dinner. Also, it turns out just as good even when I am too lazy to peel the tomatoes or pre-sautee the zucchini. The last time I made this I hardly had any mozzarella left, so I used a combo of mozzarella and swiss cheese - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States