Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Delicious...made it as a side dish for a balsamic glazed pork tenderloin.I added extra basil(it is a must to use fresh)Loved it!!Great recipe and a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
FABulous even without any mozzarella (which I didn't have). I didn't sautee the zucchini first; I greased the baking dish with EVOO and layered the raw zucchini on the bottom, then the tomatoes and topping, and the zucchini cooked exactly how I like it this way. Yummy!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swiss Phil
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I am the author of this recipe and I am a little upset that the description of how to present this dish is being misunderstood. The idea is to have the food arranged in alternating stripes of colours. Why? Because this is supposed to represent the Italian Flag. Stripes of green followed by stripes of white, followed by stripes of red. So take your zukes, lean them up against the wall of the baking dish and create an entire row of green - then lean a row of cheese against this, then a row of tomato ----- simple. It is NOT supposed to be layered from top to bottom. See some of the earlier pictures - 15, 20 and 26 at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
A hit with the whole family which is a rare feat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
So good. Sauteed the zucchini with garlic powder (instead of fresh garlic), added italian-seasoned bread crumbs during baking. Also, removed the seeds from the tomato before adding to recipe and the end product was not soggy at all. Great, fresh, light flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I added mushrooms! tastes like pizza to me. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this recipe for a party and was very pleased with the outcome. Taste and presentation were 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Yum, yum, & yum! We loved this! I made exactly as the recipe stated with the exception of using 1 tsp. dried basil instead of fresh. I am sure it would be even more amazing using fresh basil. I made this at the end of the summer season, so, the tomatoes were not at their summer's best, but, this dish transformed them. Definitely will be making this again. 9/5/14 Just a note - absolutely use fresh basil - it makes a HUGE difference. The basil infuses big flavor into the tomato and cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Good Grief! I have no idea why I waited so long to make this- it is simply OUTSTANDING!!! I was just about to pop a frozen veggie in the microwave, when I remembered I had just picked fresh zucchini and tomatoes from my garden. I recalled seeing this recipe and decided to try it! I could not have been more thrilled with the results. I am growing cherry tomatoes, so I halved a bunch of those. This is truly an incredibly flavorful dish, and it makes a lovely presentation. So, when my family plowed through the entire thing without hardly leaving me any behind, I decided to make myself a mini version in a ramekin. I just layered it up, baked it til warm and bubbly (I wasn't really timing it, but I would guess maybe 15 minutes), and viola- a gorgeous presentation!!! I am contemplating hosting a dinner party just to be able to serve these little ramekins of awesomeness! Thanks so much Phil...this is most definitely something I will make often and with much anticipation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States