Zucchini Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
It is definitely too sweet for my taste, but tastes great otherwise. I lowered the amount of sugar by 1/4 cup, will use less next time. Used regular milk since I was out of evaporated. It would not set even after cooling. Next time I will use evaporated milk as called for in the recipe, add a couple more tablespoons of flour, bake it longer, and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really great recipe. I like many others cut the sugar in half and still thought it was a little too sweet. I used a graham cracker crust since that was all I had on hand. Great way to use zucchini and unique pie. My super picky family loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Wish I could rate this higher, it is a fantastic pie! I read all reviews and finally decided to cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups as everyone seemed to agree the pie was very sweet. I agree it could even be cut down more but oh my this was delicious. I added the cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix and sprinkled pumpkin pie spice over the pie. My pie took almost an hour baking to almost set it completely but when it cooled it was perfect. I never told anyone what the "secret" ingredient was and nobody guessed but everyone raved about how delicious it was. I will be doing this again soon LOL. I froze some of the pieces to share with others and it froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is very good and a great way to use up zucchini (one can only bake so many loaves of zucchini bread). I'm only giving 4 stars because the amount of sugar called for is WAY too much. I started with 1 cup, tasted it, and decided not to add any more. Also, the baking instructions are vague. I baked mine for an additional hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Excellent, esp. when you use one cup of sugar. I used one zucchini and one yellow squash. My kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
We loved this pie! We have a lot of zucchini from our garden so I wanted to find some zucchini recipe dessert, I was not sure if this pie would work, but It did perfect!. I didn't use evaporated milk because I didn't have any but I use milk, I only add 1 cup of sugar because we don't eat much sweet stuff. It turn amazing!! it taste a little bit like pumping pie. I have been made it 3 time so far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina
Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I MADE THIS PIE BUT I HADN'T PICKED MY ZUCCHINI YET THAT DAY BUT I HAD SOME YELLOW SQUASH SO I USED THAT AND IT WAS AMAZING. I ONLY USED 1 CUP OF SUGAR AND NEXT TIME I MAKE IT I WILL ONLY USE 3/4 CUP. I HAVE HAD LOTS OF ZUCCHINI AND YELLOW SQUASH THIS SUMMER AND IT IS AMAZING TO ME HOW VERY VERSITAL THESE SQUASH ARE. I HAVE HAD FUN LOOKING FOR DIFFERENT RECIPES AND MAKING LOTS OF THEM. MY HUSBAND WILL ASK WHAT IS FOR SUPPER AND I TELL HIM "DO YOU THINK IT IS GOING TO BE ANYTHING WITHOUT SQUASH IN IT." I THINK HE IS TIRED OF IT BUT IT NEVER TASTES THE SAME WHEN YOU MAKE DIFFERENT RECIPES WITH IT. NEXT PIE WILL BE WITH ZUCCHINI. PHYL32 I MADE THIS AGAIN FOR XMAS DINNER AND DECIDED TO SEE IF IT COULD BE MADE AN IMPOSSIBLE PIE SO I ADDED 1/2 CUP OF BISCUIT MIX AND LEFT OUT THE FLOUR. I ALSO ONLY USED 1 C SUGAR. IT TURNED OUT GREAT. I CANNED 28 QT OF YELLOW SQUASH THIS SUMMER SO I USE THAT FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
WOW was this fantastic!! And totally by accident did I find out that you really only need 1/2 cup of sugar for each pie. I started making the pie and I was putting stuff in the blender while I was doing the zucchini. Since I had double the zucchini I decided to make 2 pies. I doubled everything but realized too alte that I forgot to double the sugar and the result was just FANTASTIC! We did put a little whipped cream on top and the guests raved over what a good vanilla custard pie it is. Then I revealed it is zucchini. They couldn't believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is an incredible pie!!! My children loved it, and it's so easy to make. I love simple desserts that help use up the excess zucchini from the garden! It's a WIN-WIN deal!! Will make this over and over again. Also freezes very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This pie is seriously amazing! The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar...I don't like things too sweet so I only used 3/4 cup sugar. Still very sweet (for my taste), so next time I will try 1/2 cup sugar. I think I will make another pie tomorrow and give it my mom just to see if she can guess what is in it (you really can't tell it is zucchini)! It is really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States