Zucchini Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
5/31 made it again. This time subbed SHARP cheddar, 3 green onions and yellow squash 3 cups only, no zuke nor salt nor pepper. Added 1/3 cup heavy cream. Family raved about the changes. Otherwise first time: Good zucchini spoonbread. omitted the basil and it tasted great. Maybe could shorten the baking time because the cheese was so done it created a crust. UPDATE: make a day ahead with changes, heat oven to 350 to warm, cut into squares, arrange in bigger pan uncovered, heat for 30 minutes. Tastes like they have been FRIED!!! omg! Wedding reception guests fought over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was soooo good. My husband just loved it! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This recipe came out great! Easy and tasty. Using a combination of yellow squash and zucchini made it prettier, and next time I will add in some red bell pepper as well. I agree that it didn't take 60 minutes, and I would recommend waiting to add the cheese on top until it is almost done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I discovered this recipe today and made it tonight. I preheated a (slightly oiled) cast-iron skillet and then baked it in that for 60 minutes as directed. I did wait until it had cooked for 30 minutes before adding the cheese topping. I thought the taste was delicious and the texture perfect. (I did only add about 1/3 of an onion because my husband will not eat anything with more onion than that. It still was very tasty, but I believe it would be even a bit more so with more onion.) We ate it as a main dish with a large salad and were very satisfied. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Sooooooo easy and very good, had to use monterey jack & I chopped the zucchini, turned out GR8888, we loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I loved this dish! I used the 50% fat cheddar and only used 4 oz. Skipped the cheese topping and did not miss it. 3 large zucchinis = 4C shredded for me. Would make a wonderful appetizer cut into 1" squares. I baked mine in a 2 quart rectangular dish and got 12 average servings. Highly recommend that you try this one! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Wow! We're trying to work a greater variety of veggies into our diet. Hubby and I are NOT big fans of zucchini but this was really, really good! I baked for 35 minutes, then added the cheese on top and baked for an additional 15 minutes and it seemed perfect. We're definitely making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
As a cornbread lover I found this recipe to taste great. I cooked it slightly longer than listed, I cooked until a knife cam out clean after inserted into the middle of the dish. I cooked at 350° for 1 hour and 18 minutes. The casserole came out moist and firm, easy to serve, tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very easy & very yummy! A great way to use up all that zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is my absolute favorite zucchini recipe. I have made it several times and the last time I added canned chicken - still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States