Zucchini Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I have made this recipe two times. The first - per the instructions. It was way to wet, but good flavor. The second time I grated the zucchini and lightly salted it and put it in a collander for about an hour. I squeezed the zucchini at the end of that time before adding it to the recipe. (I had over a cup of liquid!) I also added all the cheese to the mix instead of using half for the top. Now it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
The first time I made this it tasted like a zucchini pound cake! I never knew packaged cornbread mix had sugar in it. Why would anybody do that? The next time I made it using a mix that didn't have sugar in it (Shawnee Mills) and it was great! Added a teaspoon of dried basil and a teaspoon of minced garlic. I also covered the dish with aluminum foil, baked for 45 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for 15 minutes more. A 5 star recipe that is highly recommended once you get rid of the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe and good use of zucchini! Light, fluffy, excellent cornbread! Company loved it!!! Update: You must drain the zucchini... lightly salt the zucchini and let sit for 15 min minimally to weep the zucchini. Press out any remaining water before adding it to your mix. Additions you can add to enhance the flavor: grilled corn off the cob, diced sweet red pepper, green ortega chili's, onion, or any type of spicy cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was a really tasty and useful recipe for the zucchini windfall of the summer garden. Has anyone tried to freeze it? It's a great side, but I liked it as a breakfast item. I followed the recipe except for two things. I added 1 clove of garlic - chopped fine, and I didn't ust a bag of muffin mix. I used 1/2c cornmeal + 1/2c of AP flour + 1tsp baking powder. It was really good & no preservatives. Next time, I'm going to add 1/2c corn kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe was very good, similar to a quiche in flavor and texture. Next time I will try addding bacon and spinach to the mix. It would also be good with Monterey Jack cheese. My suggestions would be: use 1/2-3/4 cup diced onion; be sure to squeeze the water from the grated zucchini before adding (perhaps this is why people are getting gooey results?); add all the cheese except 3/4 cup for topping; and finally wait until the last 15 minutes to add the cheese. I also covered this with tin foil until the end so it would not scorch the top. Will make again, it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
5/31 made it again. This time subbed SHARP cheddar, 3 green onions and yellow squash 3 cups only, no zuke nor salt nor pepper. Added 1/3 cup heavy cream. Family raved about the changes. Otherwise first time: Good zucchini spoonbread. omitted the basil and it tasted great. Maybe could shorten the baking time because the cheese was so done it created a crust. UPDATE: make a day ahead with changes, heat oven to 350 to warm, cut into squares, arrange in bigger pan uncovered, heat for 30 minutes. Tastes like they have been FRIED!!! omg! Wedding reception guests fought over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Awesome with a few modifications. Sliced the squash, and salted it, then laid it out on paper towels to dry out. I used half an onion (and will probably use less next time as I'm not a big onion person), doubled the cheese and mixed in with the rest of the ingredients, added 8oz of sour cream. Baked covered at 350 for an hour, and then broiled for about 10 minutes to make it a little more crisp. Next time I will try a ritz cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This recipe came out great! Easy and tasty. Using a combination of yellow squash and zucchini made it prettier, and next time I will add in some red bell pepper as well. I agree that it didn't take 60 minutes, and I would recommend waiting to add the cheese on top until it is almost done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good...think it could be a great alternative to stuffing during the holidays. A few alterations: -add a bit of garlic powder -add 1/2 of a diced red pepper (yummy addition while adding come color) -use a sweet vidalia onion instead of regular white...I feel like it complements the sweetness of the cornbread. -I put probably 6 of the 8 oz of cheese into the mixture (definitely more than half) -I cooked it in a 2 1/2 quart baking dish, which I think allowed it to cook more evently (no mush). Unique and very good...I'll definitely make again. Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Wow this came out soooo great - unexpectedly! Very much like a quiche with a lightly sweet taste to it if you use the jiffy corn bread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States