Zucchini Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as stated. The first thing my husband said was "there's too much onion". Same thing I was thinking, and I used a very small onion. The onion flavor is overwhelming and not in a good way. It also stayed firm and strong after cooking. The cheese on the top was awful. I see so many people enjoyed this recipe. Sorry I can't say the same. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner last night but I made a lot of changes! I used a mix of green and yellow zucchini and added sausage, canned corn, a red pepper, green onion in place of the regular onion, sour cream, garlic powder, and I crumbled bacon on top. It was great! And it was a great way to hide a ton of veggies from my husband who hates to eat them! Husband and our company loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious! I added a bit of garlic powder. I'm not a fan of sweet cornbread (Jiffy), but this was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Main Dish hit! My kids aren't fans of zucchini but this was a hit! I accidentally mixed in all of the cheese so didn't put any on top. I shredded the zucchini lengthwise so had long shreds. I divided the mixture into two brie bakers instead of a 2-qt. baker and baked them for 40-45 minutes. It was a bit difficult mixing with the longer shreds but it turned out GREAT! without the cheese it was lightly browned on the top and we all enjoyed it as our main entree. Kids have asked for this to be on the regular list. NOTE: I did not add any salt or pepper to the mix and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Salted and drained the zucchini. Used jalapeno and habanero pepperjack cheese. Mixed in most of the cheese, sprinkled what was left about 10 before it finished cooking. The cornbread mix had sugar in it, so this was sweet and spicy. I'd prefer less sweet, but it's still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by absentMindedcook
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I love zucchini and corn bread so this combo was delicious! I may have baked this one a little too long so next time I would start checking to see if its set after 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very good and easy. My husband says can you make this next week too. Also my daughter ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was very moist and seemed more like cake than cornbread. I added 1/2 frozen corn (thawed). It tasted good, but I really wanted cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow this was really yummy. I used a generic corn bread mix that was only 6 oz in total and next time I will use either double the corn bread mix or one that is 8.2 oz like this recipe calls for. I used my slap chop to chop/dice 5 zucchinis and one large onion. I also added few dashes of hot sauce and garlic powder. Next time I will use 3 eggs instead of two so it binds more. To avoid extra wet zucchini after chopping, I put all of the zucchini on a double layer of paper towels and spread it out and patted it as dry as I could and added salt. I did notice that the paper towels were soaked through and my casserole was still very moist but not runny. I think next time I will use extra muffin mix to have it come out more like a muffin vs. a casserole but it was still really flavorable and smelled so good while baking. I am sure this can also be done with yellow squash too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shogan80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The only thing I did differently, was I didn't add salt. I really liked this and I believe it would have been better had I not put it in the "wrong" dish. I did as others said and that was to salt the grated zucchini and put in a colander. There was a lot of liquid when I squeezed it out. The directions said to put it in a 2 qt. baking dish and bake for an hour, which I did except I used an oblong dish, not round, and that made it too dry. I had it timed for 50 min. to coincide with another dish and I think it would have been done in 30. Next time, I will use a round dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States