Zucchini Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My family and I loved these fritters! I had no fresh corn on hand and used a can of sweet corn which came out fine. Would have been unbelievable had I used fresh! Also added a bit of grated onion, yummy! The sweetness hits you after a few chews and was creamy and perfect to us. Will so make again. Just a note to you: this makes a lot of fritters! You may wish to half the recipe or freeze the rest for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I try to avoid sugar so I made the following healthy changes: used 1.5 cups zucchini, doubled the cumin, omitted the sugar, added 1/2 cup shredded carrot to sweeten, used 1.5 cups frozen corn, cooked and drained, added 1/2 cup shredded onion, added 4 cloves garlic, substituted milk with soy milk, sautéed in steel skillet and fried in iron skillet, found that the ones in the steel skillet came out fluffier and not as greasy only added 1/4 tspn salt and the chefs trick is to lightly salt the cakes as soon as you place them on the rack, the oil readily absorbs this and seasons it well; definately needs a yogurt dip to accompany, with mint would be good. Pretty good as far as fritters go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Great recipe! Used sweet corn and mozz. and parm instead of chedder. Cook it like pancakes (don't flip until little bubbles come to surface) or else will go flat. I will definately make again. Also tastes better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I scaled this down to make 12 but will have to make a full batch next time. Very light and fluffy. The only reason they don't get 5 stars is for me they were a touch too sweet. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar a little bit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
What a different app! Another great way to use zucchini! I used frozen corn and fried these in a deep fryer. I do think they needed a little more spice so I will try to experiment next time. They didnt last long in my house. The extra batter stayed nice in the fridge so you can prepare a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Love them! I actually left out the milk, because I used super fresh sweet corn that I had just cut off the cob and it was nice and milky. I am going to try more cheese and cumin the next time, but these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I really did not care for this recipe. Thought that it was too doughy and bland tasting. I am very surprised at all the good reviews and wonder if someone can tell me what I may have done wrong? I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This recipe was very good. However it makes quite a few. When serving as a side dish, I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
A bit bland, too much fat in the recipe in my opinion (I even cut the butter to less than half the required amount), a bit too sweet. Not horrible, but not that great. Good consistency though and they cook nicely. Of course, Ranch dressing would add flavour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for, but I only gave it 4 stars because I feel that it went overboard on some ingredients. Made it gluten-free and dairy free using GF flour blend, Ener-G egg replacer, and oat milk. Skipped the cheese and butter. Added 1/2 red onion, chopped finely and some crushed red pepper to suit our taste. Fried it in coconut oil. Served with pickled veggies and cheese for the rest of the family who aren't sensitive to dairy. Kid who hates zucchini had no idea it was even in there! :-) Very much recommend this recipe, but you DON'T need the extra butter at all, and the cheese is not at all necessary. Save the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States