Zucchini Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fluffy and crispy on the outside. It kind of reminds me of hush puppies, but tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Really good! I had a couple zucchinis to use up so I thought I'd try this recipe. The only changes I made were I used frozen corn instead of fresh, reduced the sugar to 1 tbsp, increased the cumin to 1 tsp, and omitted the cheese. They came out wonderful! I served them with sour cream. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe would be better with only half the sugar (or less) I kept having to add salt and spices to counter the sweet. After a couple sets of fritters I finally put the rest of the batter in a baking dish and baked it at 400. Much better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBASS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I tried these last night and they are wonderful! I only used 2 tablespoons of butter and used canned kernel corn (what I had on hand). Next time I make them, I will cut Cumin in half (personal preference, as it seemed to overpower the taste of the zucchini). I will also reduce sugar to 1/4 cup and milk to 1/2 cup. Great recipe that is versatile for adding your own personal touches... crab meat, veggies, different types of cheese, etc. Thanks, Flowerdanni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I really did not care for this recipe. Thought that it was too doughy and bland tasting. I am very surprised at all the good reviews and wonder if someone can tell me what I may have done wrong? I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
My dad makes a very similar zucchini fritter (without the corn) and I can never get it very close to his recipe. This is a great start to that, but I did make a few changes. I only used 1 tablespoon of milk and a little bit of sugar, I squeezed the zucchini of most of the moisture, and I added about 2 teaspoons each of onion and garlic powder and left out the cumin. I also added a bit of parmesean cheese and dried parsley. Used my melon baller to put into the pan and they cooked for about 2 minutes of each side. It made a lot, even though I cut the recipe in half. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Scaling the recipe to use the amounts of corn and zucchini I had to work with the recipe called for one and a half eggs, I used two eggs and omitted the milk. Also left out the butter. The recipe called for a quarter cup of sugar, I used a scant quarter cup, they were a bit sweet but I over salt everything so it worked for me. I added a teaspoon of minced garlic chives, a heaping tablespoon would have been better but my plants are still small. Was planning on grating cheddar over them as they came out of the pan but forgot about it as I was too busy enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Handsom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Based on some of the reviews, I only used 2 T. sugar. I also used egg substitute for one of the eggs and Smart Balance sticks for the butter. These turned out great, but I think they were a little bland, especially if you're serving them as a savory side dish. This recipe makes a lot, so I'm going to experiment--I plan to double the cumin and add some onion the next time. I am also goin got experiment with making them up and then freezing the cooked fritters. I agree with the reviewer who commented that you could hardly taste the cheese--I even used extra sharp cheddar. They were good as is, with syrup, but need some jazzing up if you intend to serve as a savory side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
What a different app! Another great way to use zucchini! I used frozen corn and fried these in a deep fryer. I do think they needed a little more spice so I will try to experiment next time. They didnt last long in my house. The extra batter stayed nice in the fridge so you can prepare a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The flavor in these fritters was wonderful. I love the blend of the corn and zucchini together. However, my mixture came out way too thin (even after draining the kernal corn). I followed the recipe, so I do not know where I went wrong. In an attempt to thicken the batter, I added a can of creamed corn. I then fried them like pancakes. This one is worth another try and I will work on getting the recipe thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reshableu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States