Zucchini Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Eh. It was good, but the real problem was that I made 'MOMS Zucchini Bread' on the very same day, (from this site) which was WAY better for some reason. If I had not made the other bread, I would have ranted and raved about this one, but side by side comparison, the other wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Changing the raisins for crasins is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I just made this recipe and its really good. I added chocolate chips instead of raisins though and I added a 1/2 cup of sourcream since people had said it was on the dry side. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is really good. For those of you who think you don't like zucchini bread, think again! The coconut totally hides the texture, if that is an issue for you. The only change that I made was to use 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/2 cup (unpacked) brown sugar. It looks like a lot of ingredients, but it's really not much work at all. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this bread and left out the currants. I substituted chocolate chips instead and actually thought it was rather dry and heavy. I found another zucchini bread recipe from this site that had 2 cups of zucchini and it turned out very moist so I might increase the amount next time. I really liked the coconut flavor but maybe it dried out the bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKOBSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is very good just as laid out, but after experimenting I think I've found three changes worthy of sharing. Firstly, I couldn't stand to pitch out the water in which the raisins were plumped (why toss away so much flavor?) so instead I use 1/2c of hottest tap water (toss raisins and let soak about 10-15 minutes in it) then reserve it after draining the raisins and add this cooled liquid to the egg, oil, and sugar mixture. Secondly, to balance the added liquid, and also add some healthy fiber, I add 1/2c whole-wheat flour and a few tablespoons ground flax seed. Thirdly, I use the longer, shredded coconut instead of the flaked, as I think it improves the texture. Really delicious results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This one had great flavor, but there were a couple things I really didn't care for. First, the edges overbaked by the time the middle was done. Also, it was pretty crumbly. I think that the coconut might be to blame. But it could be because I used half whole wheat flour. But since I couldn't tast the coconut anyway, I think if I made this again I would leave that out and up the oil or add applesauce or something. Oh, and I doubled the recipe and made half into muffins. They baked more evenly but didn't puff up pretty and round like muffins should. So if you're looking for a recipe to make into muffins, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I made this for the first time last night and it turned out beautifully, very moist and flavorful. I did omit the nuts and substituted applesauce for the oil. I would never have thought to add coconut to zucchini bread but it works! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was moist and good but i had better. I would have preferred a sweeter loaf. Overall-- good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and used raisins. My co-workers love the bread because it is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States