Zucchini Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Interesting comments from other reviewers. I shredded one medium-large zucchini, which was a tad more than the recipe called for, so the bread was not dry. I also used 1/4 c. of whole wheat flour in place of all white (LOVE that whole-wheat taste!) and cut back on the sugar to a total of 2/3 c of granulated Louisiand brown sugar. Subbed pecans for walnuts too. Baked for 50 minutes, which was perfect. Nice delicate taste the first day, but even better today, and still moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Super moist - I used a cup and a half of zucchini since I had a ton on hand. I used almonds instead of walnuts though and I would suggest against that, they way overpowered the flavor of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was just looking for a simple zucchini bread recipe, and this was one looked the closest to what I wanted. I left out all of the last four ingredients since I just wanted a basic zucchini bread. It is delicious!!! Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was wonderful! I loved the coconut twist and the added raisins were delicious. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made this recipe as written the first time & it was really good. The next time I tweeked using other reviews & suggestions. First, grate the zucchini (I used extra--maybe 1-1/2 cups, since I have a surplus) and let it dry between paper towels. I then replaced half of oil with applesauce; used half white/ half brown sugar, used 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1 cup flour & used craisins instead of currants. Muffins, baked at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes are gourmet quality--moist & delicious, wonderful texture. Thanks Carol for an excellent recipe and other reviewers for great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Delicious sweet bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love this recipe so much I made it twice in 2 wks! I normally only bake once a month, the only trouble is, I wind up eating most of it on my own! I made a couple of changes to this recipe by omitting the currant, raisins, I used whole wheat flour instead of the white unhealthy type. I also added some lemon rind for extra flavor, I also replaced the butter or oil with half apple sauce and half coconut Extra virgin organic oil, huuuummmm! so moist and delish! I served it with homemade strawberry jam. Just sinful, only in the taste, because I made some healthy substitutions! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I just made this and the only alteration I made was using applesauce instead of oil and raisins (not boiled) instead of currants. Sometimes applesauce makes things turn out too spongy I find, but this loaf still turned out amazing! Very yummy with so many different flavours (zuchinni, coconut, cinnamon, nutmeg, raisin - it was delicious!) Definitely a keeper! *Edit* I was just reading through my Company's Coming "Muffins and More" recipe book and this is the exact recipe from that book! Either way, it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've been searching for the perfect quickbread recipe to keep me supplied with fresh baking throughout the week, and this is my favorite so far. The first time I made it, I halved the recipe to make one small loaf, but added one whole egg, which seemed to make it quite moist. I used melted butter in place of oil. I added some grated carrot along with the zucchini. I also used half the amount of brown sugar instead of white. I omitted the currants and nuts. Second time, I did not half the recipe, and also added some chopped sour apple in place of the currants. I tried using half a cup brown sugar and half a cup of honey. I think I'll leave out the apple next time, as it didn't add anything to the flavor. I might also use a quarter cup brown sugar and half a cup of honey, although the flavor of this batch is very sweet and rich. This batch is not as moist, although I did not find it dry, so I may add two eggs next time. At the suggestion of another review, I sprinkled oatmeal on top 15 min into baking, making it quite pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Absolutely the best zucchini bread I have ever eaten. A great way to use zucchini and actually enjoy what you end up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States