Zucchini Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
The first time I made this recipe, I left out the currants and doubled the recipe, and it came out really dry and kind of heavy. Everyone else who's reviewed it commented on the moistness, so I tried again. The second time, I doubled the recipe, but used three eggs instead of two and substituted brown sugar for half the white sugar. I also used dried cranberries rather than raisins or currants. This batch is moist and yummmmy! I also realized that with my first batch I was using unbleached 'artisan bread' flour rather than regular all-purpose flour, which I'd purchased thinking it was regular unbleached flour. Don't know what the difference is, but I switched to good old gold medal, and this batch came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Perfect! This is easily the BEST bread I've made (I've made a lot of sweet breads)! I recommend using 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 c wheat germ to up the fiber. No noticable changes in taste. Since this recipe can run slightly dry, if you find yourself considering cutting down on the oil - don't. I added 1/2 cup of applesause along with the oil and it is just perfect. With or without the changes this bread is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
I tried this and found it very easy to make. My family loves the coconut. I chose not to boil the raisins but just added them into the batter. Used Crasins for something different. Very tasty, and will use again for sure! Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Churmusi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Great easy and quick recipe! For a lighter version, I used only 1/4 c of oil and added a 1/4 c of applesauce and replaced 1/2 the sugar with splenda and it worked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Awesome! I have made this several times already. I even tried lightening it up a bit. I mixed 1/2-cup Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar, and 3/4-cup wheat flour with 3/4 cup white flour. The results were good, but still not as awesome as the original. I will make the lightened version for my household, but when it comes to giving it away I will stick to the original. PS: Unbelievable but true - I recently tried to double this recipe, but I accidently only added 2 cups of flour instead of 3 cups. The result was more like a zucchini cake. So I went to the store and bought some cream cheese frosting and everyone raved about it! They are still saying I make the best zucchini bread out of our whole big Italian family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I made 3 different zucchini loaf recipes - 2 with chocolate and this one. I thought I would like the ones with chocolate better, but this one was my favorite. I used natural applesauce instead of oil(it saves 75 cal & 8 grams of fat per serving) and used craisins for the currents..it was so yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was good. Very easy to make. Moist and very good with coffee. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar and it was sweet enough, I just love the taste of brown sugar and coconut together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Really yummy and different with the coconut. My co-workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe is so good. I used raisins instead of currants. It came out moist and delicious! Everyone who ate it asked for the recipe! New Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
One of the best zucchini breads I have ever had. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States