Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was amazing. So moist and the icing really topped it off. I did not have dates so I omitted them and added chocolate chips. I also increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and used almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made gluten-free version using a mix of bob's red mill GF flour and coconut flour. Used 1/2 cup of butter and substituted 1/4 cup of applesauce for the remaining 1/4 cup of butter. Next time I will use coconut oil instead of butter. Omitted dried fruits and added chocolate chips. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups and didn't put on the icing. Also, I used wholewheat flour to make it a healthier snack for the kids. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teeags
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I am giving this recipe four stars because the instructions are clear and easy to follow and is such a treat! I had to make a few modifications due to my health concerns. I've made this recipe twice now;the first time, I only substituted the 3/4 c. w/about a cup of pure canned pumpkin. I found it to be very sweet and did not bother with the glaze icing. Last night, I modified the 1/2 c. white sugar + 1/2 c. brown sugar- and only used 1/4 c. of Splenda (I really wanted to try coconut sugar but did not have any on hand.) Also, instead of the 3/4 c. Margarine, I used about 1 c. canned pure pumpkin. Instead of all-purpose four, I used half white whole wheat and whole wheat four. I did not have raisins on hand and used currants instead. For the icing, I used an old recipe and creamed some light Country Crock butter, 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and Splenda and sprinkled toasted walnuts (a must!) on top. The end product is bar-like and moist. I appreciate this recipe because it is easy to follow and because you can't go wrong with dates, raisins, coconut, and zucchini in a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is excellent, however it is definately more of a cake than a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These were soo good. I didnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Pretty good flavor and very moist. I didn't have raisins so I added some mini chocolate chips which were good. Probably won't make again as it was definately very cakey - I was looking for something more like a chewy bar. Took these to work and most people seemed to like them, although I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These came out really well for me. They are cakey, as others have said, but moist, not dry. I added 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips, and I'm glad I did; I don't think the chocolate flavor clashed with the fruity elements. I also added 1.5-2 tablespoons extra confectioners' sugar to the icing to thicken it a little. I don't think the walnuts added much other than a nice crunch, though I did forget to toast them, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tupper Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I apologize for changing ingredients, but when I don't like a certain something, I'll substitute. In this recipe, I omitted dates and raisins and used walnuts and also added about 1 1/4 cups chocolate chips. I also used 1/4 cup applesauce for some of the margarine. For the icing, instead of vanilla, I used some coconut syrup that I use for making frappucinos. It baked nice and moist with great flavor. I love it because it's another zucchini recipe that I can make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
very good, be warned batter very thick! used both dates and crasins. very sweet next time just one fruit, absolutely NO chocolate chips, (they only belong in cookies) did a brown sugar icing drizzled on the top. great consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States