Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Thank you for a GREAT recipe! Looking for another recipe to use up the zucchini from my garden I gave this one a try. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup greek yogurt in place of the margarine. I didn't have dates, so I used dried cranberries and I added 3/4 cup chocolate chips! Fabulous! I did NOT make the icing, the chocolate chips gave it the additional kick needed. I made a triple batch the first day and I'll be making more. Cut them and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
these were good but won't make again. i was looking for a "homerun" recipe & this was only a single or a double. shared with a large group of people..not 1 person asked for the recipe. but was still a fun recipe to try. do NOT omit the topping. that was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Great flavor! Best taste if not put in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yum! Like others have said, it does seem a bit more cake-like than cookie. Really, just drop "cookie" from the title and it's fitting: a bar. A tasty one! I omitted the dates, simply because I didn't have them. They baked beautifully in about 30 minutes. The glaze is wonderful and I love the addition of *toasted* nuts to the top. I almost added some to the batter, and I'm glad I didn't. **Also used butter, not margarine. Good, tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These cookie bars are super good. I have been making zucchini bread for years, decided I wanted to try these as something different. My family loves them. They taste like something my grandma would make, can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is so good!!! I made it exactly as the recipe is and it's moist, sweet, a little chewy with the dates and the coconut justs adds that little something extra. I will definitely make these again. Next time though, I'll probably just put the nuts in the batter and then bake. The nuts look pretty on top if I was taking them over to a friends or for something special, but just for at home, I'll add them. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
We loved these; the coconut-zucchini-date mix was surprisingly yummy. The kid who mows the lawn claimed to not like zucs but then asked for more. I omitted the raisins, put the walnuts and cinnamon right in the bars, and skipped the frosting. Mine were halfway between a cookie and cake. They stayed moist for three days, and probably would have stored well, if we hadn't eaten the all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
VERY SWEET!! Made recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were not very good at all. I omitted the raisins and dried fruit and substituted choc. chips. They were dry and not a very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I replace the raisins with chocolate chips and used whole wheat flour. SOOoo good! I also put the walnuts in the blender before pouring them over the icine. These were a hit! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States