Zucchini-Coconut Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
very good, be warned batter very thick! used both dates and crasins. very sweet next time just one fruit, absolutely NO chocolate chips, (they only belong in cookies) did a brown sugar icing drizzled on the top. great consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is not a cookie bar, more of a cake, but it is fantastic! Everyone raved about it and wanted recipe. I didn't use the frosting recipe here, but instead used a coconut-cream cheese frosting recipe also on Allrecipes.com. Then topped with toasted coconut, it was sooooooo good! Also, I omitted the raisins and dates, but added walnuts in the cake, made it really good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My new favourite zucchini recipe! The glaze makes a special touch. I left out the dates, but this would be great with carrotts if zucchini are not in season. Will make again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used applesauce instead of margarine and coconut milk instead of milk... It was amazing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Another great way to use zucchini. We didn't make the the glaze because the sweetness would've been overkill. I used half a cup of apple sauce and only a quarter cup of margarine, also reduced the sugar to a total of 3/4 cup (even down to half a cup probably would've been fine as they were still quite sweet). I decided to add the cinnamon to the bars as I wasn't using the glaze. I think the raisins or dates could've been omitted, but that's just personal preference. My son loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These had really good flavor, but are more like a cake than bars. The coconut flavor is subtle, but present though the icing makes them a little too sweet and distracts from the yummy flavors. They are very light and fluffly and not as dense as I think bars typically are. Also, to get the nutrition value that is stated in the recipe the bars are pretty small for a serving. You would most likely eat 2-3 times that for a normal size serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These bars are EXCELLENT! They are bars--not cake and the "icing" is actually a glaze. I've made them twice, both times to RAVE reviews. I left out the dates, used 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in the glaze, and sprinkled with finely chopped pecans vice walnuts. Make sure to cool completely before cutting. 5-stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Used only coconut & chocolate chips instead of the dates, etc. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
So good- I used all raisins since I didn't have dates on hand. Made the recipe exactly as written otherwise. Thanks for a yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Thank you for a GREAT recipe! Looking for another recipe to use up the zucchini from my garden I gave this one a try. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup greek yogurt in place of the margarine. I didn't have dates, so I used dried cranberries and I added 3/4 cup chocolate chips! Fabulous! I did NOT make the icing, the chocolate chips gave it the additional kick needed. I made a triple batch the first day and I'll be making more. Cut them and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States