Zucchini Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
We all loved this. I used 1/2 c rum in the cake because of the other reviews that said you could not taste it with the 1/3. We enjoyed it. I thought the glaze was going to be too strong when I first made it but it mellowed nicely overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
The zucchini does make this a very moist cake. It is very tasty as chocolate cakes go. The rum in the cake itself is pretty much undetectible, but in the glaze it is overpowering. Next time I would skip the glaze and just dust with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We all loved this. I also used 1/2 cup rum in the batter, but only 1 tbsp and the rest water in the icing. The whole thing was eaten including the crumbs. It is a very rich and dense cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really, really good! This cake came out very moist. Nobody would believe there was zucchini in it. This could be a new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this for a big family gathering yesterday and never told them it had zucchini until after they ate it. Everyone was so suprised. They loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Ironspine
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Moist, but not too moist. Perfect chocolate flavour. Added additional 3/4 cup of flour and used 1/2 cup of rum for high altitude baking. Cake is tastier the following day. Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Super good and moist. I didn't have any white rum so I used Captain Morgan instead and I used a different Butter/sugar/rum glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmthomas66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Cake was raw in the middle. I had to keep putting it back in the oven for about 30 minutes extra...total of 1.5 hrs. What a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I added only the confectioners' sugar on top instead of the rum/glaze and I put Quik instead of cocoa powder. It was good, I would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
FABULOUS recipe. I will hang onto this one! Loved the undetectable, moist addition of the zucchini; the subtle rum flavor; the chocolate... I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the glaze to make it an all-chocolate cake, and I included 1/2 cup of rum in the batter. Other than that, no changes necessary. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bruss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States