Zucchini Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is dense and moist! Tastes great from the fridge! Quite addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! This turned out moist and delicious, not too sweet, and that hint of orange made it perfect. Based on another reviewer's suggestion, I added about 1/2 tsp of orange extract to give it a stronger orange taste and it tasted great that way. I also omitted the nuts because I didn't have any, and I think it would be great either way. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Loved it! Took one very large and a small onion to get a tbsp. of zest, so I used orange extract in the cake and the glaze. Made two loaf cakes and poked holes in the top so glaze would sink in. Very good, zucchini didn't show at all, you could easily fool non-zucchini eaters with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have been baking for over 50 years, love trying new recipes, bake breads, do cake decorating etc. This recipe for some reason did not turn out. I followed it exactly, it ended up very crumbly, could not even slice it, will use it in a pudding layered dessert as a crumb layer. Hope others have better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is a very good, very moist cake, and with 3 cups of zucchini, is a great way to get rid of a big zucchini! I followed the recipe exactly, (except maybe added a touch more cocoa due to bad measurement) and it was very good and moist. I think this cake would be a good candidate for a cream-cheese orange icing, the cream cheese would cut the sweetness bit. I think the nuts add a necessary texture crunch. It WON'T overflow your pan if you use the right-sized pan! (Don't use a small one) As always, DON'T use frozen zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Wonderful! I creamed the sugar and butter as instructed but then added the eggs and creamed until light and fluffy. I alternated adding in the milk combined with vanilla and the flour mixture just to ensure it didn’t separate. I added extra orange zest only because it smelled so good and I couldn’t resist. I’m so glad I did. The results were a delicious cake that was moist and had wonderful texture. I would omit the walnuts the next time just so the orange flavor would take center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe was great. After reading most of the reviews I decided to use 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract and the orange zest plus I used dark cocoa powder instead of the regular cocoa. Since I added the orange extract I reduced the amount of vanilla by 1/2 a teaspoon. The cake turned out moist but not gooey and I got the deep chocolate flavor and the with a hint of orange. Just what I wanted! On the glaze I used the exact amount of orange juice called for and 1/8 teaspoon of orange extract. Consistency was just right for a glaze and I had a nice orangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was amazing!! My family asked for seconds. I added a cup of chocolate chips. Seemed to take a little longer baking than recommended but came out moist and full of flavor. Excellent!! I would make this over a regular chocolate cake any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great cake worth the extra steps so moist and yummie too five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Fabulous. Next time I would add the orange with the wet ingredients. I think it would be easier to mix in that way. I reduced the butter to just 1/2 cup and left out the nuts. It stuck to my bundt pan so I want to try using shortening instead of nonstick spray before I flour it and see if that helps, or try it in a springform pan. Flavor and texture were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States