Zucchini Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This cake came out so moist and rich that everyone wanted the recipe! I did make a few substitutions. I substituted 1 tsp of orange extract in place of 1 tsp. of vanilla extract. Instead of adding milk, I used 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also added 3/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Not as moist as I was expecting based on other reviews, but still it was good. Maybe it would have been a little more moist if I had used 3 packed cups of zucchini instead of just using it as it fell. I didn't drain it. Used 1 tsp of orange extract instead of the zest but would probably use slightly more next time. Only used 1/4c of walnuts, which was plenty for me. It baked up very nicely. The glaze was just ok, I think it needs less liquid because it all just ran immediately down to the plate and it didn't look like it had any glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Great recipe. Doubled the orange juice and poured the mixture over the cake when it came out of the oven. By the time it had cooled it had all soaked in and the result was a tangy moist cake. A lovely change from the usual zuchini cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was rather dry but tasty. Next time will put in only 1 cup of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Ohhhh how delicious!!! This cake came out nice and moist, full of flavour. Better than anything from a store, and I would say almost as moist as a boxed cake! I did a few alterations: 1 1/4 cups of honey instead of sugar, canola oil instead of butter, no salt (I know salt supposedly makes baking taste better, but I don't care for it), and I added some nutmeg and I skipped the walnuts. I would say sifting the dry ingredients is key to making this cake so light and fluffy, and then adding them to the wet ingredients afterwards. I used all of the zest of an orange, and then all of the juice from the orange in the icing. Oh my, this was just heaven! Thanks for the recipe, it's my new favorite cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Thanks ps great recipe without the zucchini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
You'll think you've ruined the recipe when you put in all the zucchini, but trust me, nobody will ever know! I fooled all the kids at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! Moist and chocolatey, no one would ever guess there are 3 cups of zucchini in it! I made it for my husband's birthday on Tuesday and I am about to make it again, 2 days later, to take away on a trip this week end! I changed nothing except for leaving out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very moist and very good. I baked it longer than suggested, maybe 10 minutes xtra. Seemed almost too much batter for the bundt pan at first, but in the end was fine. I will also try in a 9x13 pan. Was a bit hard to get out of the bundt pan. The icing added a nice touch to the cake, but does not look like the picture. Is more runny and goes on clear, not white like photo. I made recipe as is, minus the nuts but replaced with chocolate chips. Took this to a potluck and it was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is awesome. It even freezes amazing! Made two cakes, froze one and it was moist as ever! A great way to use up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States