Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I followed it exactly and it came out great. My guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
LOVED THIS! I added a bit more garlic and cheese. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was delicious! The smell was so pungent when I was mixing it, I was afraid it would be too garlicky, but it was delicious! I didn't add parsley because I didn't have any, but otherwise, I followed it to the "t". It is very, very savory, and I used it as a side dish. I should have halved the recipe because It was just for my small family. There's a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
excellent quick appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Outstanding! Well seasoned and and a nice, quick, easy side dish. Re-heat in oven ( 350 deg for about 5-10 min.) microwave does not do it justice. Believe it or not, tastes great with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn’t have enough zucchini so I used a mixture of yellow squash and zucchini and it was older so I didn’t have to worry about excess moisture. I used 2 cups of baking mix and the parmesan cheese was grated not the kind in a shaker. I didn’t have sharp cheddar so I used mild cheddar. Another person mentioned that you can only use vegetable oil or it will be too greasy but I used canola and it worked well; no issues. I only had 2 T. of dried parsley and I added 2 tsp. paprika. At 25 minutes, it was gooey so I cooked it an additional ten minutes, a total of 35 minutes and it was more bread-like but not firm enough to pick up as an appetizer. I used PAM to grease the metal baking dish; I think butter would make it greasy. I served it alone or with spaghetti sauce. Perhaps it would make a better appetizer if it was cooked in a mini tart pan? Overall, it was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I was humored that the reviews were so inconsistent. Some said it was bland, others said it had too many competing flavors... So I had to give it a shot. I made it pretty much according to recipe, but I only made a half-batch. The only changes I made were using gluten free biscuit mix and accidentally adding a little too much parmesan (about an extra tablespoon or so). Even though it was only half, I still needed to cook it about 25 minutes, so I suspect a full recipe would have taken longer than stated in my oven. Also, I let it set up for a couple hours before cutting it since I wanted to take it to a potluck anyway. It held its shape well, and I was pleased with both the look and the taste. I wasn't blown away though, and I don't know if I'd make it again, but there's nothing wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Wow this was delicious. My boyfriend hates zucchini, but he will try one bite of anything I make. He actually said it was very good and had two servings. It is very simple but flavorful. I would give it a five star rating but I think a little more seasoning would be good, possibly chunks of cooked bell pepper or jalepeno would be nice or couple dashes of hot sauce or peper. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is yummy! I just made a half sized batch so I could bake it in my toaster oven (8X8 pan) so as not to heat up the house. I grated the zucchini and half the onion, mincing the rest, sprinkled the mixture lightly with salt, let it rest for a half an hour, then squeezed it as dry as I could in cheesecloth (you'd be surprised hour much liquid come out-I know I was). I upped the baking mix to 1 cup, decreased the salt to a pinch (because the veg had already been salted), and it came out great! I cut it into small (about 1-1/2") squares, and stuck them with toothpicks to make little bites (about 36). It should be perfect for the potluck function I'm about to attend, because certainly most people won't want to eat huge portions in this heat. I think the key to making them solid enough to stick on a pick is draining the veg. I just tried another one (oh, darn, I just had to do it) to be sure they'd lift from the pan easily without falling apart, and they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very easy. Took it to my kids potluck at her camp she loved it, the kids loved it, and it was a huge hit! I'm a qualified critic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States