Zucchini-Cheese Appetizer Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this for a party... didn't have zucchini so I used broccoli and mushroom. doubled the recipe so it was thicker but used half the oil and used melted butter instead of oil. Used 1/2 egg whites. Didn't have breadcrumbs so I crushed pita chips. Didn't have all cheddar so added monterey jack and parm. Sprinkled with more parm to serv. Liked the nuttiness of the sesame. It was a big hit. The recipe gave me a start and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Much too oily! I will omit the vegetable oil if I try this one again. I used fresh herbs and omitted the sesame seeds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I make this every summer when I have more zucchini from the garden than I know what to do with. After making it a couple of times exactly as stated, I tried turning up the heat like some others suggested. I turn the oven up to 360º, and watch it closely to make sure it doesn't get too brown. I also saute the onions and more garlic first. Since it seems a little too greasy, I will try decreasing the oil next time to 1/4 cup or less. And if you turn up the oven temp. you can forget toasting the sesame seeds beforehand, since they will get brown. I also add more bread crumbs, 1/2 to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Use 1/4 cup of oil - saute the onions and garlic for 2 or 3 minutes and add the zucchine and saute for 3 or 4 minutes. Roast the sesame seeds in a dry pan. It'll be 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
OK, but waaay too greasy as other said. I would probably leave out the oil and the breadcrumbs to make it more like a quiche--you don't need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My whole family loved this. I had grated zucchini on hand and it worked out perfectly. My new favorite appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very disappointed. It was like eating a cold omlette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Omitted Oil completely and baked at 400 for 30 minutes. With these changes, my friends and family love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
i made this for a party and everyone loved it. i had to make some more during the party.i forgot to put the seed in that one, but everyone still like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I too thought it too greasy, and the prep time was more than 5 minutes. Might have enjoyed them if not quite so mushy. My kids did like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States