Zucchini Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is a good recipe. I reduced the fat content by using fat free sour cream, light margarine, and low fat cream of mushroom soup. Also, I followed the suggestion of others and used only 1/2 C of onion. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Great side dish recipe using vegetables. I reduced the amount of butter to 1/4 cup and combined all ingredients together. After baking it for 10 minutes, I also added cheddar cheese. The dish turned out very moist and was a nice side with chicken with gravy. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a great recipe, but I'd make a few changes. First I use half yellow squash and half zucchini. Next cook the onions with the squash, then the onion flavor won't be overpowering. I also use cream of chicken soup (or cheese if you want it vegetarian). Lastly, I think I use a little more stuffing, probably 8-12 oz. Definetly try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
The onion is really overpowering in this recipe, since it doesn't really cook much in the time allotted. I recommend chopping it very small or omitting it altogether. I also found the stuffing mix didn't puff up at all, I don't know if it was supposed to, or not, but mine didn't. As a result, this didn't really satisfy as a main dish... it was just a whole lotta zucchini with some breadcrumbs on top, which seems more of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was really yummy! I made a few changes but I'm sure it would have been great as is. First, I mixed in about 1/2 sleeve of Ritz crackers in the stuffing with the butter. I used only 4 cups zucchini, which I pre-cooked in the microwave for about 3 minutes. I cut the sour cream in half since I had less zucchini and added some garlic POWDER (don't use garlic SALT, because it was pretty salty already with all the Ritz crackers) I wanted to make it a complete meal so I added a drained can of turkey meat to the zucchini/soup mixture. I probably cooked it 30 minutes and it was nicely crisp-tender, but the crust was dark and yummy. We ate 2 helpings each. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Great recipe! Tastes even better the second day. I think I'll substitute mushrooms for the onions next time, they were a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Really wasn't all that great. Didn't seem to have any consistency beyond mush. Though the taste wasn't too bad, my husband voted it a do not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
One of the best Zucchini recipes I've ever tried.....I'd reccomend it to anyone....vegetarian...or meat lover......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. Made a few minor changes to make it more to our liking. Used half of a medium onion, shredded one carrot, and used half of the butter. I mixed it all together, baked for 10 minutes then topped with cheese for the last 10, per other suggestions. It's a quick and easy recipe for leftover zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've had dishes like this before but they've tasted a lot better than mine did. The zucchini released a lot of water while cooking that formed a pond in the bottom of the dish. I also found the onion a bit overwhelming so I wish I didn't add as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrideToBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States