Zucchini Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made a few adaptions--made my own mushroom soup roux, doubled the onion and an extra bread crumb layer. It was a BIG hit with the 39 people at the dinner we went to. They actually announced at the table that Marjorie's casserole was a hit. Hint: I made this a day ahead, so when it came time to reheat, it was from a COLD start. So it took 45 minutes to get it to 160F. Next time, I may prep veggies and assemble and bake closer to time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I tried this last night, my husband loved it.But I thought the recipe could use a few tweeks, for example 1st ; I recommend boiling the zucchini & the shredded carrots for 10 min. not 5 to make them softer.2nd ; I would use a sweet onion which I will saute first so their soft and taste better. 3rd Next time I make it I'm going to put the stuffing on top of the mixture and top it w/French's fried onions to give the crunch flavor. But overall great way to cook up Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is by far the best veggie casserole EVER! I'll be making it again, using whatever vegetables I have. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I left out the carrots just because a lot of my family doesn't like them and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myhusbandcooks
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Just made this tonight because we had so much zucchini left from another recipe. You need to sautee ALL veggies! I added onions to the pan but not carrots and they are too crunchy and add a flavor I didn't want. I will make this again. I also added a layer of shredded parmesan cheese before baking...and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a simple and quick recipe that you can add/modify and still come out delicious! I made this for dinner tonight. My husband and kids loved it! I used cream of corn instead because I didn't have cream of mushroom. I substituted Greek yogurt for sour cream, once again I didn't have sour cream. I also used crashed unsalted saltine mixed with Italian seasoned breadcrumb instead of bread stuffing. As you might have guessed it, I didn't have it at the time of cooking. :) So, as you can see, you can vary the ingredients and can still come out great! I don't like raw onions so I wanted to make sure it is cooked through so I cooked onions and zucchini with butter and chicken stock for about 15 mins. I also added 2 hot dogs from the left over. I may have varied the original recipe a bit but this is a great recipe to use as a base. :) Definitely a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was OK, not what i expected. Tasted to me more like stuffing than zucchinis. Would be a good meal to make in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Just ate this tonight. My vegetarian daughter approved so it is a keeper. I forgot to put in the onions, so on the off chance that someone doesn't like onions, it was good without. The one thing I will do differently next time is that I will do two boxes of stuffing(we used Stove-Top Cornbread-because that's what we had and the vegetarian daughter thing). I like stuffing and just wanted more in the bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was very good. I did add (2 Tsp) minced garlic to the zucchini and onion mixture. Also added (1/2 Tsp)black pepper to soup and sour cream mixture. I used the microwave to pre-cook the zucchini, onion , and minced garlic (8 minutes). I used unsalted butter as the stuffing has plenty of salt. It was still crisp tender and tasted great. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! Took the general outline of the dish, modified a few ways. Used less sour cream and butter. Had some fresh-grated sharp handy, threw that in. Used 2 cups breadcrumbs instead of stuffing mix. Very good result though: I will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States