Zucchini Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I wanted a different and easy casserole for dinner on New Years' Day having all my family and in-laws over. This recipe sounded good and was delicious!!! Everyone loved it (the kids picked at it, they 'don't eat' zucchini). It was reheated twice and still as good as first time. Thanks for a great recipe, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
This was a great tasting side dish to our meal and it was a really good way to use the extra zucchinni from our garden. I would definitely make is again and again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was a huge hit! My non-veggie eating family devoured almost the entire casserole. Some suggestions... like previous reviewers I would cook onions first. However, unlike some other reviewers, I didn't find it lacking in flavor at all. I used the Stovetop savory herb stuffing. Also, I don't care for canned soups or mushrooms so I used a "cream of chicken" substitute (basically a thick white sauce flavored with chicken). Perhaps these 2 things made a difference in flavor. This will continue to be a regular dish in our house... especially during zucchini season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
Really liked this one. Everyone ate some even those who don't like zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Our family has been making this recipe since 1980 when I graduated! It's a family favorite... everyone that tries it always asks for the recipe. Good stuff!!! If you enjoy stuffing you will like this. We like to saute the onions & carrots together until tender and then add stuffing. We also steam or microwave the zucchini as it helps to retain it's flavor and this process doesn't have the watery affect boiling does. We also drain the zucchini for a short period too. Enjoy... This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
With our zuchinni crop increasing daily, I needed some recipes quickly. This is a delicious dish. I splurged with real butter, but cut back on fat using low fat sour cream & reduced fat cream of mushroom soup with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was very good. The only thing I might do next time, is to cook the onions a little before adding them to the casserole. I liked the taste, but for those who aren't wild about onions, it was a little strong. I also liked it a lot better the next day. A great sidedish, and a nice way of using up zucchini that threatens to take over your entire backyard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This recipe is great! I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and nearly everyone told me how good it was and wanted the recipe! I did add a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit, and added some cheese on top, before the bread crumbs. Also, put together the night before and baked just before dinner. I'll be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
I loved this recipe! My grandmother used to make something similar to this and I have been searching for the recipe. Even my hubby who claims to *hate* zucchini ate it up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This is a comfort food that I relish from my childhood. It is perfect made this way! I sauteed 4 small chopped zukes (and/or yellow squash) with onions & carrots and two 8oz packages of sliced mushrooms. I used healthy request (low-fat has tons of sodium!!!) mush soup and reduced fat sour cream. I really thought my husband would love this, but he did not the first time. He never had it as a child, I think that's he difference between loving and hating this recipe! He really likes it now that I've made it a couple of times. Also... it is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States