Zucchini Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Thanks to all of the previous reviewers that noted the amount of Old Bay was too much. Because of the advice, I reduced it to suit the quantity of cakes I made. I used unseasoned Panko bread crumbs also. I most certainly didn't bake these, it's enough that I'm eating zucchini in the first place! I pan fried 'em in olive oil & served with a homemade remoulade. Smaller, these would be terrific appetizers so that's what I'll do when I make them again. Keeper:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Food Fan
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
5 stars after second batch made with 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay. 1 tablespoon of Old Bay made the dish very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I LOVED the recipe for "Connie's Zucchini 'Crab' Cakes" (from this site), so I thought I'd try this. These didn't even compare- My advise is try the other recipe. The only plus is these are baked and not fried, so they must be healtier; then again, maybe that's why the other recipe tastes so much better. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I have always followed the receipe on the box of Old Bay Crab Cakes with the variation of worchestershire Sauce as much as the mayo you put in the cake. Then when you fry it keep it think so you can brown quickly. Taste like a vegitarian crab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
4 stars on its own, 5 stars when red pepper, green onion, and feta cheese are thrown into the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I thought this was an excellent cake...my company really liked it. I added more chocolate chips on top and didn't bother with a frosting. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Excellent! I was worried that my hubby would not like it cause he hates zucchini,but he absolutely LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
i just had these for dinner and i thought they were great, and this is someone who loves crab meat. i added a little butter to the top of the cakes for the last 10min while cooking and all i can say is wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Pretty good!! I followed directions and baked them in toaster oven. But I think they would be even better fried, altho less healthy. Served w/ fat free sour cream. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I made this recipe with half Italian bread crumbs, and half crumbled reduced sodium crackers. I also used a cajun mustard to add a bit more kick. I didn't have Old Bay, so I made my own mixture of seasoning, including Tony Chachere's Spine N' Herbs. It wasn't too salty at all, and had an excellent texture. Will definetly make again, with my own twist of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States