Zucchini Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I've been making these for years and they are delicious. One thing though, you should definitely drain the zucchini thoroughly after shredding. I put it in a colander and cover with paper towels, then weight it down with a large soup can, let it sit for about 20 minutes. It makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! There are so many ways to change this recipe, too, as desired! Sometimes I leave out the seafood seasoning and skip the crackers and bake the patties. The possibilities are endless!!! Sometimes I add shredded potato and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
OK - I messed this recipe up a little and they were still fantastic! I had a large group here for my dad's birthday celebration this evening and with all the kids running around the kitchen and chatting/having fun, I scanned the directions quickly and threw everything in a bowl and mixed (including the crushed crackers). After noticing that the mixture was too dry to shape into patties, I realized my mistake and added an additional jumbo egg. With the large number of people, I had to double the recipe. I also made the cakes small to serve as a side. After shredding the zucchini, I placed it in a colander, sprinkled it with Kosher salt and let it hang out for awhile and allowed the excess moisture drain out. Before adding it to the other ingredients, I squeezed the remaining liquid out in a clean dish towel. All alterations worked out great. Everyone really enjoyed these and several did agree that they taste like crab cakes. Very flavorful and a great side or meatless main dish. Absolutely a "make again" here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe! I have tried several zucchini cakes over the years, and this is my favorite by far. The only modifications I made were to use onion powder instead of chopped onion, and I used 1/2 cup bread crumbs and 1/2 cup cracker crumbs because I ran out of bread crumbs. I drained the zucchini very well before mixing with the other ingredients. I also had to add a little more oil to the skillet while cooking. These had great flavor, were crisp on the outside, and weren't as mushy on the inside as the other zucchini cakes I've tried. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it 3 times. My father was visiting and he thought at first I made salmon patties, then he saw the green flakes. He knew I had used zucchini, but then he asked what kind of fish did I use? 2nd and 3rd time I made with 1 extra egg. Thanks for the recipe, Pat. Love it!! Maybe it should be named Zuchini Moch Crab Cakes and put under side dishes so it is easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were fabulous! A couple changes, I make my own bread crumbs with butter crackers & Panko Crumbs & seasoning. Added it to the zucchini mixture & didn't need to coat again with crumbs. Scooped mixture in large fritter size directly into the oil. Fried em up & YUMMY! Thank you thank you Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Flavor could fool you! Be sure the zucchini is very finely shredded. Does not stay together real well, as a "cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are really, really good! You do need to make patties small otherwise they fall apart and are a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This recipe is great--and very filling! Would not change a thing. I did not have the seafood seasoning so I used crushed red pepper & parsley to taste. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good, but I don't necessarily think they taste like crab cakes since there isn't any crab! Quite tasty though and I used corn flake crumbs instead of bread crumbs because that's what I had. I also used two eggs to make them hold together a little better. I didn't dip them in cracker crumbs either and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States