Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bonnie_lynn2001
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
1) First time I made it, I followed the recipe all except I used one cup of brown sugar and one cup of white, it was excellent, I did have to cook it longer though. 2)I substituted white sugar for brown, all of the oil for apple sauce, and used two teaspoons of cinnamon. I had to bake it much longer, and it wasn't as good as the regular recipe. 3) I followed it to the T and it was great! 4) I substituted 1/2 cup oil with a banana and kept the rest the same and again it was great! * tip* shred the zucchini then squeeze out access water in an old towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This cake is delicious! The only issue I have is with the size of the cake pan. I used my sheet pan as directed, but my cake was not as high as the one pictured. But it tastes fabulous, and has a wonderful texture. Next time, I'll bake it in a 9x11, or make cupcakes out of it. Also, I thought 2 cups of sugar was a bit much, so I stopped at 1 1/2 and drizzled a little honey into it. Awesome cake - thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
this was the first time I ever followed a recipe to the letter! and it was a total success!! My picky 12 year old ate about 1/2 the cake!! SOOO YUMTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This cake is delicious. I increased the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp and added a sprinkle or 2 of nutmeg. To boost the nutritional value, I also increased the zucchini to 2 1/2 cups and substituted applesauce for half of the oil. I increased the cook time to approx. 50 minutes. No icing is necessary as this cake is flavorful in its own right. Even my children who won't touch zucchini said this was "amazing"! Next time I will double the recipe and freeze one as others have suggested. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We love this cake, i did use less sugar and 1/2 cup more zucchini basically because i wasn't paying attention and we love it, very tasty and moist, actually making one every week(too many zuccinis) and freezing them. love it love it ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! It is truly delicious! I used store-bought icing on it to save time. We ate it still warm and it melted in our mouths! I 100% recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLove198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This bread was VERY good, especially when toasted and then buttered :P I DID drop the sugar and oil: 1 cup and 1/3 cup respectively, and this helped the flavor pronounce itself! Add some vanilla to up the flavor, but this recipe remains a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was a disappointment. No flavor. I followed recipe exactly. Won't make again. Waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Fabulous cake!! I didn't feel like making zucchini bread; my little son wanted to make a cake, so I checked AR and found this simple recipe. The only catch is that my family didn't wait for me to frost it and dived right in. We all agreed the cake is delicious without the frosting. Also, because I doubled the recipte, I had an extra cake to take to a potluck. I dusted it with powdered sugar and it was a huge hit. Everyone agrees the cake is simply awesome with no frosting. I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States