Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was delicious! I substituted 1/2c applesauce + 1/2c oil and added a cup of raisins. I also baked this in a bundt pan (for 55 min) rather than a tube pan. Glazed this with a cream cheese glaze (2 T cream cheese, 2/3 c confectioners sugar, 1 T milk, 1 tsp vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
I love this cake! It's very moist. Instead of a tube pan I used a 13x9. Also, I used a cream cheese frosting to top it off. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I baked this cake yesterday with great results! I made the following changes to the recipe: no pineapple, a little extra zucchini, extra half tsp cinnamon, half-tsps ginger and nutmeg. Also, used a cream cheese glaze. Wow! Very moist and rich. It only needs to be baked about an hour if you use a typical dark ring pan. Perfect for serving for dessert or teatime...just delicious. I kept mine in the fridge and it is still moist the next day (now). We'll see how long it lasts....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ButtercupBento
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8inch round pan for 35 mins, to be honest it could have done with 5 more minutes. Very moist and delicious. I also used the remaining pineapple juice from the can with some confectioner's sugar and drizzled it over the warm cake. Will definately make again but will coat the walnuts in flour as mine all sunk to the bottom and peel the zucchini as the green flecks are a bit off putting. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is the BEST zucchini cake recipe I've ever discovered. Moist & oh so delicious! Since the summer of '05 I have made this recipe many times with wolderful results. Never changing the cake ingredients, I've used various cake pans and made cupcakes too. Like so many others using a tube pan, I found my cakes are done before the 80 minutes so keep an eye on yours. I have used Geri's glaze, cream cheese icing suggested by others and left it plain. No matter how I have served it family and friends have loved it. I have learned to take a copy of the recipe when I take this cake to gatherings. The pineapple is a terrific addition Geri. Uniced cupcakes/muffins served with Sunday brunch are my personal favorite. The muffins freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by On Oldham Pond
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My husband and I loved this cake. I made it pretty much as written, but without nuts. Baked it in a 10" Bundt pan for 60 minutes...let it stand in the pan for 10 minutes before turning it out...popped out perfectly! (That part always makes me nervous.) Glazed it with a fairly thick glaze consisting of 2 tablespoons cream cheese, 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon pineapple juice, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. It was so pretty I submitted a picture, which is now under review, so we'll see if it ever shows up. :) Thanks for a delicious way to use zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This cake turned out wonderful! Very Moist! I did make it in a 9x13 pan and it turned out fine. I omitted the glaze and made a cream cheese frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I followed the cake recipe and baked it for 55 minutes. It was nice and moist. Instead of glazing it, I made a cream cheese frosting using 4 oz light cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups icing sugar and 2 tsp of the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Yum. I halved the recipe and baked in a smaller, rectangular pan (~6x11") for 50 minutes. I replaced half the oil with apple sauce, and did not bother with the glaze. I'm eating the cake right now (not paying much attention to the "let cool" instruction), and finding it a little sweet. I will cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. Otherwise, it's moist and delicious! (Update: half the recipe makes 12 medium muffins. Bake for 25 mins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
AWESOME! Super moist, and delicious. I took it to work and it disappeared in 15 minutes. Like others, in a bundt pan, mine only took 55 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States