Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Wonderful as is. No changes needed. Made in 13 X 9. I did use the reserved pineapple juice instead of milk for the glaze but that is the only thing I did differently. Milk would work fine too. Couple things to note though. The batter is stiff at first but once you add the drained fruit and zucchini it thins so I would still drain the pineapple. Also, important to whip the eggs and sugar until light in color as directed. Makes a big difference in the resulting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this cake is the best!! made it yesterday and it's almost all gone. i halved the recipe and baked in an 8in round pan, all i can say is yummy. added ginger and nutmeg as another reviewer suggested, and did a cream cheese glaze. delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Only change I made was that I did NOT drain the pineapple. The batter seemed a bit stiff so I put the whole can of crushed pineapple in, juice and all. Came out AMAZING!!! Just like the others here, I only needed 60 minutes baking time. WOW, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent!! Followed "QueenSharon00" suggestions, omitting the pineapple as well and it came out very moist and super delicious. Also used vanilla frosting for topping by warming it up and drizzling it on. Bake time was 70 mins for me in a tubular flute pan. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake was great. Very moist, nice rich flavor. I didn't start out with super high expectations. So this was a wonderful surprise. Made recipe just as written, except I also shortened the cooking time to little over an hour. I used a cream cheese glaze. Wonderful first day, possibly even better the second, I don't think it will make it to a third in our house. My son had a great time cooking with the zucchini he helped grow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum! The only thing I did differently was to decrease the sugar to 1-1/2 cups. Do yourself a favor by waiting until the next day to allow the flavors to fully blend throughout this wonderful cake. I took it to work the morning after making it, and it was gone like a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Great recipe. I made it just as written and would not change a thing. I did not wait long enough to put on the icing though. So next time I will be more patient and wait for it to cool down all the way. Thanks Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wow, this was incredible. I made mine in an angel food cake pan. It took longer than 80 minutes to cook. I think I had to cook it for another 15-20. Turned out perfect though. I brought the majority of the cake to work and it was gobbled right up. I made the icing suggested by another by using powder sugar, pineapple juice and vanilla. So yummy!!! Great recipe! The pineapple really makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I used a 9x13 pan and baked for about 40 minutes. Used 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. I added 12 oz crushed drained pineapple, and an additional 1/3 cup flour to make up for the extra pineapple. I omitted the nuts, because I didn't have any. This cake turned out fabulous!!! Extremely moist, reminds me of the oatmeal cakes my mom used to make, but a little healthier for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I topped this very moist cake with whipped cream cheese frosting. The small piece I tasted before sending it to work with my husband was great. It was a hit at his office. Love the pineapple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States