Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I rate this one star because the recipe is flawed, in my opinion. I have made many bundt cakes and have never had any problems with the cake sticking to the pan. That said, I've made this cake twice and, while the flavor is delicious, they both deflated in the oven, stuck to the pan and fell completely apart by the time I got them out. I believe the pineapple, even drained and patted dry, is releasing too much liquid and sugar during baking and it's acting like a sticky adhesive. Some more treatment needs to be done to the pineapple or you need to leave it out. Again, great flavor, but I don't want to be using a spoon to scoop out the other half of the cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Super moist and sweet--we enjoyed ours without any icing or glaze, which even to my super-sweet tooth would have been too much. I think for "company" presentation I would simply dust the top with powdered sugar. I substituted a cup of dark brown sugar for one of the two cups of white sugar called for (really, try this--ups the flavour immensely, and, if you use a molasses-based brown sugar from the health food store instead of the caramel-colouring "brown" sugar at most groceries, ups the nutrition a tad, too) and I increased the spices. I didn't measure the spices, vanilla, walnuts, etc., but instead eyeballed them, so I probably used about 2 to 2 1/2 tsp of a mixture of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, cloves that I had on hand from a previous spice grinding. Instead of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil, which is a functional food (i.e., it has health benefits beyond nutrition) and is firm at cool room temperatures but with beating melts readily. It gives a very, very mild coconut flavour that adds nicely to this cake. This recipe has gone into my allrecipes recipe box! Thanks for sharing, Geri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It is very moist, however I found it unsatisfying. I will stick to zucchini bread and brownies and skip the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
oooh la laaaa... this is one tasty cake!!! Very moist, with those chunks of pineapple... a little glaze drizzled over it makes it elegant to look at but one taste and you will close your eyes and think you're in heaven!! Yum. A new favorite for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Excellent and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
tastyand easy. Baked in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Amazing taste and sooo moist! Would definitely make this again. Stuck to the recipe except mine only took 60 minutes to bake & I made cream cheese icing as another reviewer recommended. Alson I would suggest letting it cool for at least an hour (maybe even 2) as opposed to the 30 min recommended in the recipe because my cake fell apart when I tried to take it out of the pan after just 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
well, we used peaches and pecans instead of pineapples and walnuts (which were unavailable) and the result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
There is something wrong with the baking soda/baking powder amounts in this one. Most other recipes can for less. This cake came out moist but tasting strongly of baking soda/powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States