Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. I had some golden zucchini and it worked beautifully with this recipe. I did halve the amount of cinnamon because my other half (notice I didn't say my better half - hehehe) doesn't particularly care of cinnamon. It must have been just right because he loved it. I made this yesterday and there is only half a cake left. My friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was good but not great. It seemed to be lacking something. I added some nutmeg to spice it up a bit. Maybe Allspice would have been better. It was much improved with the addition of Cream Cheese Frosting. My boyfriend thought it tasted just "ok". But would prefer I not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I love this, I had to whip something up quick and I had lots of zucchini but didn't have any pineapple, so this was a great find. Turned out great and everyone couldn't believe there was zucchini in it. I used half applesauce (unsweetened) half oil and it was great. Used whole wheat flour and baked in a bundt pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This cake is so incredibly moist! My husband wasn't very excited about the idea of zucchini cake, but he really liked it and ate alot!I didn't have walnuts but it still came out good...next time I think I'll use this recipe for muffins with a cream cheese frosting...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Wonderful cake!!!!! I used 1/2 cup each of white sugar, honey, and brown sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar. I also added 1/2 teaspoon extra cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. Tastes wonderful and was great even two days later (how it lasted that long I do not know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was a moist, delicious cake. I substituted 1/2 c. of applesauce for half of the oil to reduce the fat content and it turned out great. I needed more servings of cake so I baked it in a jelly roll pan for 25 minutes and then frosted it with cream cheese frosting. Very good! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
have made this cake a number of times for friends and work mates. its always a hit. everyone has loved it and requested it. tastes best with a cream cheese icing (icing sugar, vanilla essence, lemon juice and cream cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Yummy! Substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for half of the oil, and used whole wheat flour with success. Very moist - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I didn't think these were anything special. I made 24 muffins. I felt they lacked kick, even though I added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. They definitely need the cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Since I had zucchini coming out of my ears, I doubled this and it made a 4 quart pan AND 2 dozen cupcakes. Because of allergies, I was compelled to substitute chocolate chips for the nuts :). The chocolate chips sank to the bottom, but still tasted great. Topped with a thin layer of cream cheese frosting. I thought it was a little heavy on the oil and could have used a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States