Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this cake with left over spaghetti squash- no difference in taste but I did cook it first to make it shredable in the microwave for 15 minutes. 1/4 of a large squash was enough. Cut sugar to 2c. Oil was 1c and 1/2c applesauce. I also added raisins, no idea how much maybe a cup or so. Baked in IKEA silicone round cake set (1 is small maybe 5" and other is made closer to 9") and a glass rectangle pan (don't know dimensions but smaller than 9x13). Baking time was off for all three, by about 15 minutes (more). Tasted great! I skipped frosting and just powdered sugar sprinkled over the top. Very moist, rose well, held its shape, raisins added very nice flavor. Next time I might add extra cinnamon, allspice, or cloves. Will try cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My kids loved this! It's a great option for a healthier dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Easy to make and made use of all the zucchini I grew this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I have found the ultimate zucchini cake recipe with a cream cheese frosting to match. I used a 9 x 13" pan to simplify things. I substituted butternut squash for the zucchini but halved and microwaved it first to soften. My husband dislikes squash in any form but returns for seconds of this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitasky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The only two things I did different, as suggested a dash of cinnamon in the (TO DIE FOR) frosting, and baked at 325 for 55-60 minutes. Dense, rich, moist amazing cake! I'll use the frosting recipe for multiple deserts-and I don't eat frosting! Everyone loved this even our 10 yr old daughter that ONLY likes cosmic brownies for desert. Will make this a LOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenna Cassady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Try this recipe along was giving to me, this was awesome..I added walnuts to it and added some additional ingerd. made two loafs it was great. will be making ore and freezing the them ...but i didnt need the frosting it was great without it...very moist and delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
FANTASTIC!! Made this for a birthday at work for co-worker.Grated the zucchini and then squeezed out the excess liquid.I also cut down the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and added and x-tra teaspoon of vanilla. Heres the added bonus--The guy wanted my german choc topping on the cake--IT WAS WONDERFUL!!! Think I'll save the cream cheese frosting for my carrot cake! ! PS---try putting parchment in pans to avoid heartache in removing the cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used 1/2 white whole wheat and 1/2 white flour. Used 4 cups zucchini. Used 2 cups brown sugar and only 1 cup of oil. I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. With the advice of another, instead of the cream cheese frosting, I glazed it when still warm with a simple glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoons milk, and 2 teaspoons vanilla). I made it in a 9x13 pan instead of layers and baked for about 50 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is my new favorite cake! I baked it in a 9x13" pan for 43 minutes, and it came out perfect! Next time I may only use 2.5 cups of sugar. Use the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. Seriously, this cake is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Hill Colvin
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is awesome.. very moist and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Hill Colvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States