Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
i made it a little healthier. i used 1/2 unbleached white flour, 1/4 whole wheat flour, and 1/4 almond flour. i only put 1/2 cup brown sugar (that's sweet enough for me and my family). i shredded the zucchini very fine, so, you can't see it in the brownies. in the frosting, i also used 1/2 cup maple/agave and used oil instead of margarine. the brownies came out delicious! the frosting added a lot (and were healthier than usual). yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fudgy and delicious! I made only minor changes/additions: First of all, I took the advice of another reviewer and made the zucchini finer in the food processor after shredding it with a cheese grater; I added 3 Tbs. strong brewed coffee (cooled) and a good squeeze of Hershey's chocolate syrup to the batter; and finally, I made 1 1/2 x the frosting recipe, which turned out to be just perfect for the 13 x 9 pan of brownies. I also added a couple of tablespoons of the coffee to the frosting mixture as well. This, I feel, really intensified the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought it was really good, but before the brownies had a few hours to rest, I definitely tasted the zucchini. Four hours later all I tasted was yummyness. I also doubled the icing because I thought it was more of a glaze and made it sweeter. Finally for color and texture and to up the fun factor, I topped it with milk and white chocolate chips. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing! We love brownies in our house and for a while I was making brainy brownies which were great only because my husband and I didn't go near them! I was looking for ways to use up zucchini from the garden as I'm the only one that likes z. bread. Anyway, these brownies are amazing, moist and totally decadent. There is no taste or texture from the zucchini, I think it just moistens the brownie considerably. I've made it several times and I would say this is between a cake and a chewy brownie, not super dense but super moist. Not sure how some people get a dry brownie out of this. It doesn't seem possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
No one believed me when I told them zucchini was in this the were good but really gooey and rich I will make but not as frequent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was totally ready to give this a lower rating. Wasn't fond of the thick, dry batter (and I didn't even add the nuts), but I love the idea of zucchini in desserts, so I finshed the batch. Mine baked much slower tho, at least 45 minutes! I LOVE them, and will make them again. Co-workers raved, even after finding out about the secret ingredient! I used my go-to fudge frosting from the site, "brownie frosting" - super simple, works every time. Thanks for this one, I'll be visiting again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I was extremely skeptical because the batter was incredibly dry, but I followed the recipe almost exactly as it is and the results were perfect. The only things I did differently was that I used a gluten free flour blend (2 parts sweet sorghum flour, 2 parts tapioca flour, 1 part millet flour with about 1/4 t xantham gum) in place of all-purpose flour, and I used almond milk and Earth Balance in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
BEST brownies EVER. Use only 1/2 the oil and replace other 1/2 with applesauce. OMGood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Great lowfat recipe! I used an oil that is a mix of canola, olive and soy, and Tuvia baking sugar (3/4c as a replacement of actual sugar). I shredded 2 zucchini which was about 2.5 cups. The mix starts out very powdery. I was thinking this was not going work out. With a wooden spoon I finally mixed or moistened all ingredients. It is thick, not a pourable batter. I spread the blob of batter out in the 9x13 and baked for 30 min. Turned out perfect, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Taken it for about 3 parties and no one could guess the healthy stuff in it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States