Zucchini Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is a great recipe! I've made a few additions to make it phenomenal. I used the base recipe but added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and an extra cup of zucchini. I also added a crunchy crust which changed the bread from "ummmm" to "oh my god!" The crunchy crust recipe is this: -1 cup brown sugar -1 cup all-purpose flour -2 tablespoons butter or margarine -2 teaspoons cinnamon -1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Mix it all together really well and crumble on top of the batter prior to baking. The topping cooks crisp and adds just what the bread needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Sorry Mom - I'm replacing your recipe, the one that I grew up eating, the one that I've been making for 20 years, the one that I though couldn't get any bette, with this one! For the first batch I followed the recipe as written (omitting the nuts). Extremely moist and really delicious. For the second batch I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce as suggested by others. Equally moist and delicious. Being somewhat conscientious about using all that oil in the original recipe, I'll opt for the oil/applesauce combination in the future. For batch number 3 I used the oil/applesauce combo, and added the crumb topping suggested by others. This is exactly how I will make it from now on. Please note: before sprinkling the topping ontop of the unbaked loaves, you may need to squeeze the topping mix into little clumps, especially if you made the topping in a food processor. Great recipe and definitely try the crumb topping - a winning combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I love this recipe! I read the reviews and altered the recipe like MaryKlaire by adding a studel -like topping in a similar matter. However, I made a crumb topping of 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 3 Tblsp of butter, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 cup walnuts. Mixed together and crumbled on top of loaves before baking. Furthermore, like Patricia, I replaced 1/2 of the oil with 1/2 cup of apple-sauce. I actually used a snack pack version with Mango. You really don't miss the oil. Finally, I used about 2 1/2 cups of zucchini and I drain / squeeze the liquid out of the shredded zucchini before adding it to the mixture. Thank you again for a wonderful zucchini bread recipe. Obviously the final version is a combination of several great ideas. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1070 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This will be my zucchini bread recipe from now on, it's very good. However I did change it up a bit according to other reviewers' suggestions, so I cannot rate the original recipe. I rated the recipe based on the following changes: added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, added an extra cup zucchini, used whole wheat flour. Added the crumbly topping as recommended by MarieClaire (I actually halved her recipe based on other reviewers' suggestions: 1/2c flour [used whole wheat], 1/2 c brown sugar, 1 tbsp butter, 1/4 c chopped walnuts, 1 tsp. cinnamon). YUM! Next time I'll substituting half of the oil for unsweetened apple sauce to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
My family & I absolutely loved it! I used only 1/2 of the oil and used 1/2 a cug of plain yogurt. I added 1/2 a cup of golden raisens, fabulous! I chopped the zucchini & then placed on papertowel to absorb some of the water,worked great! I used 2 teaspoons cinnamon & 1 teaspoon nutmeg. On my second batch I put choc.chips instead of raisens, my son loved it & he has no idea there is zucchini in it. Also partially peal the zuk's so the kids do not see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Very tasty! I added a cup of raisins and covered the loaf pans after an hour to prevent browning while the inside set, and loved the outcome! Excellent recipe, not very time-consuming or difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
My first attempt at zucchini bread and it turned out great. I changed a few thing's. Grating wasn't working too well for me so I shredded and squeezed out the excess juice, but not too dry. I used pecans instead of walnut's because I was out, for about a quarter of the tablespoon of cinnamon I used all spice, and I baked it in a square 9X9 pan instead of the loaf pans. It took an hour and about 10-15 minutes before I was done I covered it loosely with tinfoil to avoid over browing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELLEE74
Home Town: Richfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Super zucchini bread recipe! I had lost my old recipe, so decided to try this one. I'm glad I did. I've made 4 loaves and everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I've now made this several times and have frozen several loaves. Whether fresh or "thawed", it's always a hit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Yum! This bread is moist and flavorful. Next time I will stir in some chocolate chips because--well, basically because I just love chocolate. But it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States