Zucchini Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I skipped the nuts and added raisins. It was hard to stay out of this. I made a second batch with substitutions of some applesauce for half the oil and replaced half the sugar with splenda. It was not as good but it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Yes, I am a guy who loves to bake! Good, basic recipe, but did make changes (yes, gave myself 5 stars!). All have made comments abut applesauce (did half oil), brown sugar, etc. I too made the topping. Wonderful addition. BUT, the big change was to add in a cup of shredded apple. Zucchini has little to no flavor, cinnamon is nice but the apple made all the difference. Also, be sure to roast the nuts first...again, zucchini itself has little flavor and the roasting brings out the nut flavor. Add a pinch of nutmeg too if you like. Second batch I added shredded coconut (really unique and good!). Also, decided to eliminate oil and go with applesauce, sour cream, and butter instead as well as WW flour. Again, very unique but I guarantee you will get requests for recipe. I still will argue with those who say not to drain the zucchini as I really think you have to as long as you bake the bread just under 60 minutes. Just put the zucchini in a clean dishtowel and squeeze a bit. Enjoy and let me know how it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good recipe, but I wish it was a bit healthier. I also subbed out 1 cup of zucchini for 1 cup of vegetable pulp from my juicer. I'd like to try to get away with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The recipe is perfect (minus the walnuts). When made plain you can put anything into the bread. Our favorite is almond slivers & chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This bread is delicious!! It is equally good if you use brown sugar instead of white, whole wheat or spelt flour instead of white, and it is really good if you replace the oil with plain greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe was great and of course I tweaked a little for my taste. Changed sugar to 1c white and 1c brown (will probably reduce next time to 3/4c white and 3/4c brown), added 1c coconut and upped the walnuts to 1c. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
i looked at many different recipes and all the reviews convinced me that this was the one! from this recipe, i ended up making two sets of muffins and one bread. in the muffins i put chocolate chips and walnuts, but to be honest i think they would have been better left alone. As everyone recommended i susbsituted half the oil with apple sauce. Also, i added 1/3 tsp of nutmeg, a little extra vanilla, and 21/4 cups sugar and the other 1/8-1/4 cup i used stevia- the bread is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The absolute best bread! My husband is mildly allergic to bananas so this bread is the perfect substitute for banana bread. It's quick to put together and only lasts a few days. It's typically breakfast, if not a snack. It's my go-to bread for play dates and game nights. I leave the nuts out and it's still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My fam loves this recipe. I have shared it with all my friends. I substitute half the flour for whole wheat flour. Other than that, I don't change a thing and it comes out perfect every time. Not too oily, or bland! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I loved this bread! It was so moist and delicious!! Yumm yumm!! I used applesauce instead of vegetable oil and also added about a handful of sweetened coconut and some coarsely chopped almonds into the mix as well. It turned out great and instantly became a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States