Zucchini Boats on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe as my friend said it was similar to one his dad used to make. He LOVED it! Said it was better than the one his dad made. I tried a few of the other suggestions from other users - like putting them face down in water in the microwave to save time, but it didn't work as well. The pulp was still too hard. Should have boiled it instead. He also likes the zucchini very soft. I really liked it too, but omitted the bacon on my pieces since I'm going vegetarian. Just bought 2 more packages of zucchini from Trader Joe's as it will be a staple in our diet for awhile. Healthy eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxane1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yellow/red peppers, onions, garlic, salt & pepper, parmesan cheese, panko crumbs, and sprinkle of basil. Baked at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, then broiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a great recipe. A little time consuming but very much worth it. I did not cook the zucchini boat shells before stuffing. I slow grilled them a little longer to get those shells soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Neither of us cared for this at all. Lots of prep work with a lot of ingredients. Maybe that's the problem - there's just too much going on. Just too fussy, too mushy, and an unusual flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I think the olives gave this an odd taste. Minus the olives I think this would taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Not a quick side dish. It takes quite a bit of time to make but if your having company that you'd like to impress this is the way to go. Also be aware that if u don't drain them well they get soggy in the tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was a wonderful treat! Even my children asked for seconds. So much fun to make and eat. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by partyof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made theese for the first time tonight, good but not outstanding. Will make again with modifications! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I have made these twice now and let me just say they are amazing!! My bf is kind of picky about textures (hates mushy or squishy/slimy) and he LOVES these. They come out soft but the different textures from the filling helpl keep it from being mushy and or slimy. (try making an individual boat of foil around the bottom and sides leaving the top exposed on each one, then open up the foil to more of a little foil plate part way thru cooking. it helps give the top a crisp grilled texture.) They are really easy and a great way to jazz up eating your veggies. I need to remember to make them more often! I have made them once using what I had and once following the recipe pretty closely. (I cooked the zuckes in the microwave and added a little green bell pepper, used panko breadcrumbs not bread, and no bacon, but he wished I did use it.) Oh my Goodness. They are so good if you use the peppers the recipe suggests, a little bit of heat in there sets all of the vegetable flavor alive! I highly recommend making these, and try filling them with whatever you or your family like! I am going to try making them again stuffing them with some cooked hot italian sausage.. Mm now I am hungry from thinking about them! Good Luck and Happy Cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Good side dish but a little time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States