Zucchini Boats on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I make these all the time and you can just about throw anything in them. One real time saver-cut zucchini in half, take a microwave safe dish and put in a little water. Put zucchini cut side down. Cook on high 5 minutes. Varies with microwave. Then proceed with recipe. I always cook mine in my toaster oven, and put on broil the last 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is a good mix of ingredients, and we will make these again. It would have been far to soggy if I hadn't drained and squeezed the zucchini meat in a colander and paper towels. Instead of closing them in foil, I made small foil boats and cooked the zucchini with the top exposed. This made them crunchy and tasty on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Great, and very versatile! I used a leftover (cooked) burger patty instead of bacon, no chiles, and eyeballed the rest. I cooked the zucchini in the microwave, and to avoid the mushiness other reviewers experienced I drained the scooped pulp on paper towels before chopping (it was real wet). I also wrapped them separately in foil packets, then cooked them in a 450 degree oven on a baking sheet for 15 minutes. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I'm writing with an admitted aversion to basically all squash dishes, so I'll concentrate on the nuts and bolts of this recipe. I read many of the reviews, and consequently pre-cooked the zucchini w/about a 1/4" water in the microwave. I tried to squeeze the water from the removed pulp (tough to do, especially in a hurry) by squishing it against a strainer with paper towels. The I poured on the filling ingredients (really, any tasty combination will work, as long as it disguises the squash flavor/texture!). The items in the recipe work fine, but if I ever venture into squash territory again, I'd opt for stronger add-in flavors - Mexican (chorizo & cheese), Italian (hearty marinara & strong parmesean), or maybe more Mediterranean - assorted olives, sauteed mushroom blend, feta or chevre. The most important thing is to find a way to keep these boats from getting soggy. One reviewer recommended broiling the cut/scooped halves w/ a bit of EVOO - I think this would give a crispier canoe to fill than the microwave technique in water. I salute those of you who enjoy squash stuff; I encourage the rest of you to try this - a good and flavorful way to ease yourself into this vegetable group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
With their high water content, zucchini are more flavorful and less mushy if the boiling step is eliminated. Just start with raw zucchini then slice, scoop, chop, fill and grill. The filling itself is very flavorful -- just keep tasting as more ingredients are added to maintain balance. Once filled, I chose not to wrap in foil since I prefer the slight char-grilled taste on the zucchini, but this recipe would just as easily work in the oven if grilling wasn't an option. A good solid recipe which leaves room for many, many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Instead of putting these on the grill, I put them under the boiler. Turned out great! I boiled the zucchini for 10 minutes instead of 5, prepared as directed except I reserved the cheese and sprinkled it over the top. Broiled for about 7 minutes -- until the cheese was brown and bubbly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I omitted the green chilis (jalapeno is good enough) and omitted the olives (my family doesn't like them) My grill had no probane so I did this in my oven, unwrapped the foil last cple minutes under the broiler to get a little crispier. Delicious, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Wonderful dish! I baked in the oven w/o any foil @ 400 for 18 min. Added italian croutons(used no salt) and chopped cooked bacon. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were delicious! I didn't add any tomatoes since my husband hates them, so to compensate I increased all of the other veggies a little bit. I also left out the bacon so that it was a vegetarian dish. I used red onion and added two cloves of freshly minced garlic. Like other reviewers, I just used breadcrumbs instead of bread. Lastly, I used a little cheddar cheese, but mostly I put in feta, which was very good. I did cook mine on the grill, and used another reviewers suggestion of making open "boats" instead of enclosing the zucchini in the foil. It was not mushy at all this way. I'll definitely make this again! It could easily be baked in the oven, so this is going to become a year round side dish in my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I've made these before and they are great. We use sweet Italian sausage instead of bacon and they are a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States