Zucchini Boats on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
So I just read the recipe and realized I made more changes than I thought (because I forgot to add the basil, salt, and pepper) so maybe 5 stars isn't fair to the original recipe. But these are super yummy. I substituted red pepper flakes to taste for the jalapeno because I was lazy and didn't feel like cutting it up and fried up 2 pieces of bacon and crumbled them instead of bacon bits. Also cooked them in a toaster oven instead of on the grill. But I cannot wait to do these on the grill. Definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made these ahead and took them to my sister's barbecue party where they were served hot off the grill. Some folks loved them, others not so much. I really enjoyed them, but I'm a huge zucchini fan. I think next time I'll just chop up the zucchini and combine it with the rest of the ingredients to make a casserole. The boats were a nice touch for the party, but a little too much work for a week night side dish. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was a great side dish for our barbecue yesterday. Very tasty and the presentation fun. I baked them in the oven and served on a tray. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very tasty! I cooked them in the oven, then at the end opened packets up a bit and put them under the broiler for a minute or two to crispen up the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
With their high water content, zucchini are more flavorful and less mushy if the boiling step is eliminated. Just start with raw zucchini then slice, scoop, chop, fill and grill. The filling itself is very flavorful -- just keep tasting as more ingredients are added to maintain balance. Once filled, I chose not to wrap in foil since I prefer the slight char-grilled taste on the zucchini, but this recipe would just as easily work in the oven if grilling wasn't an option. A good solid recipe which leaves room for many, many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I prepared a lot of these for a big BBQ (didn't have enough room on the grill!) and everyone loved them. I didn't grill them, but used the oven as suggested by another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYMAMI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly how stated and thought it turned out well. A different side dish with lots of flavor and a great way to use Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was alright but nothing special. I doubled the filling. I would make again if i needed to use up zucchini but would not go out of my way to buy the stuff to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was amazing! I didn't grill them, and I cooked up two slices of bacon. I put them in the oven in a baking dish, covered it with aluminum foil and cooked them for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. This is a great way to get your greens :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States