Zucchini Boats on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I'm writing with an admitted aversion to basically all squash dishes, so I'll concentrate on the nuts and bolts of this recipe. I read many of the reviews, and consequently pre-cooked the zucchini w/about a 1/4" water in the microwave. I tried to squeeze the water from the removed pulp (tough to do, especially in a hurry) by squishing it against a strainer with paper towels. The I poured on the filling ingredients (really, any tasty combination will work, as long as it disguises the squash flavor/texture!). The items in the recipe work fine, but if I ever venture into squash territory again, I'd opt for stronger add-in flavors - Mexican (chorizo & cheese), Italian (hearty marinara & strong parmesean), or maybe more Mediterranean - assorted olives, sauteed mushroom blend, feta or chevre. The most important thing is to find a way to keep these boats from getting soggy. One reviewer recommended broiling the cut/scooped halves w/ a bit of EVOO - I think this would give a crispier canoe to fill than the microwave technique in water. I salute those of you who enjoy squash stuff; I encourage the rest of you to try this - a good and flavorful way to ease yourself into this vegetable group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are excellent! I took the advice of other reviewers and dried the pulp before adding to the mixture. It would have been too soggy otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Love this! Really easy to make, and great to have grilled meat or burgers right along side of it. I used both zucchini and squash for the boats. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
AMAZING!!!! LOVED IT! One of the best new recipes I've tried in a long time! I didn't have bread or breadcrumbs so I used StoveTop, haha! I'm not a fan of strong onion flavor but i didn't want to veer from the recipe too much, so I just minced pretty finely and it was amazing. Perfect amount of flavor. Made it in a foil "boat" on the grill but I'm sure it'd be great on the stove as well. YUM!!! This will be a regular in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Excellent stuffed zucchini. I used crushed seasoned croutons rather than the slice of bread and they turned out sooo good! Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These were GREAT! I was disappointed to find out I didn't actually have bacon bits on hand...these were good without, but I think they'll be AWESOME with! I used 1/4 c Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of the sliced white bread and cooked in the oven instead of on the grill (15 minutes at 400 degrees - did not wrap in foil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I wasn't thinking and directed dh to cut the zuc before boiling. Oops, the zuc came out squishy, but no one minded! It was still fantastic, but I will have to boil first next time to be sure of texture. I didn't use olives or jalap's due to families tastes. I added an extra Tb of green chile's and they definitely added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I love this recipe so much I use it for my acorn squash as well. Boil squash for ten instead of five and of course scoop out the pulp and throw away. Zucchini or acorn squash, either way this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Really good! I made some changes to suit my own personal taste. Only used 1 tablespoon of bacon bits, increased black olives to 2 tablespoons and decreased minced onion to 1 tablespoon. Since I didn't have any green chile peppers, I substituted 1 tablespoon of salsa. Since the zucchini pulp is very wet, I placed it in a colander over a bowl as I was scooping it out of the shells so it drained before adding to the mixture. I don't have a grill, so baked uncovered in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and then sprinkled some Parmesan cheese on each one while still hot, before serving. I'm sure this was great as written, but a fun recipe to play with according to personal taste. Delicious!! Thanks, BajaTheCat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This recipe was super yummy!! I "edged" the aluminum foil around the zucchini rather than covered it. I also boiled the zucchini for 3min instead of 5 minutes to keep it a little tough.. (i don't like soggy veggies) and then cooked it on the grill open faced. i took some leftovers for lunch the next day and the girls in the office tried some and begged for the recipe. I will defiently do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States