Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I read about the concerns of too much oil. I added 1/3c of oil and 2/3c apple sauce. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I have not tried this recipe yet, but I will say that if your bread/bars are not cooking up right, you really HAVE TO squeeze all the liquid out of the shredded zucchini BEFORE you measure it. That is imperative!!! Zucchini is a very watery vegetable and that may be the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good recipe, although I have to say I would call this Zucchnini Cake due to the texture. To me, bars are more chewy. That being said, I have had rave reviews on this recipe. My family loved the first batch, so I made another to take to a picnic and they were a hit there too. I tried adding some spice to the second batch like some users recomended, but it didn't seem to make a big difference in the taste - maybe I didn't add enough. However, I like the taste of the original recipe anyway - I think if you add too much spice it would overwhelm the taste of the batter. The frosting was a little too sweet for me, so in the second batch I added the confectioners sugar a little at a time and tasted as I went along - I ended up using far less than what was called for, I'd say about half. The second batch of icing was much less sweet and I thought a perfect topping for the bars. Bottom line is this is a good recipe to make as is or to tweak to personal preferences. And DEFINITELY squeeze the water out of the shredded zucchini - it made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These are easy but I think there is too much oil in the recipe. I made to a T except I added some cinnamon. They taste good but they are too oily. It is extremely important to drain the zucchini. Just put the shredded zucchini in a dish towel and wring out. When you see how much water comes out you will see why it is so important to do this. My bars still took about 15 minutes longer to cook than what the recipe stated. If you make the frosting, make sure you add about 1 cup of the powdered sugar and taste, then keep tasting until it is the taste you prefer. Thank you! I had to change my rating on this. I guess I rated it too soon. My family loved these so I changed rating to a 5! They are very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
These were great! I added nuts the 2nd time I made them. The frosting was a bit to buttery for my family so I decreased the butter and increased the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was a great "starter" recipe! I added nutmeg, cinnamon and some applesauce and it tastes like a great, moist breakfast cake! The grownups love it can't see why the kids won't too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very, very good. I added vanilla to the frosting and also a little more cream cheese because the frosting was a little buttery. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This recipe is really more like cake than cookies. It definitely needs some spices added. I made it exactly as written and it has a sweet, but oily taste. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I'm not sure if it's something I did wrong, but these did not come out at all. I cooked them until the edges burned, and the middle was still completely uncooked. I did try a little piece off the edge before I dumped it out, and it had a great taste. The cooking time is just off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
Made this twice and everyone liked it. I am somewhat concerned about the veg oil amount. Frosting is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States