Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe was very good tasting..but needed a lot of baking time. I think a bar pan would be better than a 9x13...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Rawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe for the bars to the letter and found the result dissapointing. It had to bake for at least 15 minutes more than what was called for to be done in the center and even then they fell. I'm thinking maybe I didn't get enough water out of the zucchini? too much oil in the recipe? or a bar pan rather than the 9x13 recommended in the recipe would be the fix for this. I will probably just explore for another bar recipe...I have enough zucchini to perform quite a few expirements until I find the one that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were amazing! I shared with friends and they loved them! I made the recipe as is and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very, very good. I added vanilla to the frosting and also a little more cream cheese because the frosting was a little buttery. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I read about the concerns of too much oil. I added 1/3c of oil and 2/3c apple sauce. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These are easy but I think there is too much oil in the recipe. I made to a T except I added some cinnamon. They taste good but they are too oily. It is extremely important to drain the zucchini. Just put the shredded zucchini in a dish towel and wring out. When you see how much water comes out you will see why it is so important to do this. My bars still took about 15 minutes longer to cook than what the recipe stated. If you make the frosting, make sure you add about 1 cup of the powdered sugar and taste, then keep tasting until it is the taste you prefer. Thank you! I had to change my rating on this. I guess I rated it too soon. My family loved these so I changed rating to a 5! They are very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good recipe, although I have to say I would call this Zucchnini Cake due to the texture. To me, bars are more chewy. That being said, I have had rave reviews on this recipe. My family loved the first batch, so I made another to take to a picnic and they were a hit there too. I tried adding some spice to the second batch like some users recomended, but it didn't seem to make a big difference in the taste - maybe I didn't add enough. However, I like the taste of the original recipe anyway - I think if you add too much spice it would overwhelm the taste of the batter. The frosting was a little too sweet for me, so in the second batch I added the confectioners sugar a little at a time and tasted as I went along - I ended up using far less than what was called for, I'd say about half. The second batch of icing was much less sweet and I thought a perfect topping for the bars. Bottom line is this is a good recipe to make as is or to tweak to personal preferences. And DEFINITELY squeeze the water out of the shredded zucchini - it made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I have not tried this recipe yet, but I will say that if your bread/bars are not cooking up right, you really HAVE TO squeeze all the liquid out of the shredded zucchini BEFORE you measure it. That is imperative!!! Zucchini is a very watery vegetable and that may be the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Miller Catley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This recipe is really more like cake than cookies. It definitely needs some spices added. I made it exactly as written and it has a sweet, but oily taste. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
These were great! I added nuts the 2nd time I made them. The frosting was a bit to buttery for my family so I decreased the butter and increased the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States