Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Followed recipe to the T...5 stars as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Awesome! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the frosting and used applesauce in place of half the oil. I did have to bake mine for closer to 40 minutes. Great flavor in the bars and the frosting adds just the right touch of sweetness. Yum. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This should be called Zucchini Cake! It was delicious! I used 1 cup of oil, and it wasn't oily at all. I also added chopped pecans and mini-chocolate chips. I made a different cream cheese icing, with a brick of cream cheese, 1 cup regular sugar and some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this once, and it came out delicious. :) I did make a few modifications first, though: 1) Added probably about 1/8 tsp of ground cinnamon to the flour mixture. 2) Mixed in probably a little less than 1/4 cup of ground walnuts to the dough before pouring into the pan. 3) Added some chopped walnuts to the top of the cream cheese frosting after spreading onto the cake. 4) Cooked much longer than is specified here. One commenter suggested squeezing the juice out of the zucchini, which strikes me as defeating the purpose of the zucchini in the first place. I just cooked for longer (until a knife inserted about 1 inch off-center came out clean - probably about 10 minutes longer, although I'm not sure), and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe has wonderful flavor and the frosting is awesome! However after 26 minutes the center was still completely uncooked..I believe I ended up cooking it at least 10-12 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I couldn't give these five stars because I followed some of the suggestions of other raters. I cut the oil down to 1/3 c and used 2/3 cup applesauce, and I used a different recipe for the cream cheese frosting. They turned out great! I cooked them in 2 9in round pans and brought one over to my parents. My mom reported later that my dad ate over half the pan himself! As we have a seemingly endless supply of zucchini, I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These turned out great!! I didn't have zucchini so i used the yellow squach. I was a little worried how it would taste. Was so good my husband who never tried zucchini cake before said how really moist and delicious it was. So i gave this recipe a five stars. Thanks for shareing and i will be using this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My family loved these bars. I agree, more like cake than a bar. I used canned cream cheese frosting and they were delish. Great way to use Zucchini!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These are amazing! I made them as is. They just took a little longer to bake in my oven. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States