Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Delicious!! I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and added cinnamon. I also baked them in a 15x10 bar pan instead of the 9x13 because I wanted them like a bar and not a cake. I also just used canned cream cheese frosting because I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
AMAZING!!! Loved these could eat the whole pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used 1/3c oil and 2/3c of applesauce (instead of 1c of oil) to make it a little healthier. For more flavor, I also added 1/2t of cinnamon. Also, it takes at least 30 min to bake if you use fresh zucchini. For the icing, I used 1/4c margarine and 8oz of cream cheese and it tastes best if you let it sit in the refrigerator for a few hours before icing the cake. Using the recommended amounts of margarine and cream cheese makes it very sweet and buttery tasting - using more cream cheese than margarine made it more like carrot-cake cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family totally loved this recipe. But, my husband did ask that I put nuts in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written. Very disappointing to say the least. Texture & flavor were both bland at best. Will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Too much oil, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These bars are moist and delicious. I add less butter to the frosting and it still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I added 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder to the flour mixture to make this a chocolate version. I used 1 cup of Splenda and just 1/3 cup sugar with excellent results. Cut the oil in half -- instead of 1 cup, I used 1/2 C. oil and 2 very ripe bananas. Threw in some chocolate chips, too. Nice variation. Rated this 4 stars, because I think it's too sweet with so much real sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Simple recipe to follow, I omited all the oil as I felt it was too much, I used 3/4 cup of oil rather than the 1 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp of organic cinnamon. YUM ! Very fluffy like a cake, next time I would pour into my bar pan from pampered chef! I also had to bake 10 minutes longer too. if it was in a bar pan it would of only taken 20 minutes! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Did not like these at all. I cut them up thinking it was like a bar as the title lists and brought it to work not looking good. I thought I would frost them when I got them there and ended up just throwing it away. Even with the my favorite frosting- I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States