Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yummy!! Baked in an Air Bake Pan, so had to increase baking time by 15 minutes or so. Used another Cream Cheese Frosting recipe that used 8 oz. of cream cheese, just because I knew if I only used 3 oz of pk, the rest would go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as written. Excellent recipe, very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I took this to a picnic this summer and it went so fast. One women asked me for the recipe because her daughter ate 6 slices. Moist and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
OMG!!!! BEST ZUCCHINI BARS EVER!!! COULDN'T STOP EATING THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Scrumptious! But it's really the frosting that makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Thought this was a good basic recipe. After reading reviews, I decreased oil to 3/4 cup, added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I squeezed the water out of the zucchini. My bars took 35 minutes to cook. I used my own cream cheese icing recipe with includes vanilla. Everyone loved them. I wished they rose a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I incorporated a few changes that others suggested and the bars were great. I substituted apple sauce for oil and 1 cup of white flour for 1 cup whole wheat flour. I only used 1 cup of sugar but added a tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp allspice. I also added 3/4 C golden raisins. For the frosting I omitted the margarine and used only low fat cream cheese. Definitely makes a cake-like bar but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil and it turned out great! I also baked the recipe in a jellyroll pan (13x18?) to make it more of a bar and less of a cake. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Mills, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Not really sure how to rate these. I too had an issue with the cooking time. For one, the recipe needs to say to squueze the water out of the zucchini. It is not something that I use frequently by any means so I never thought of it until I already had mixed everything and went to put the rest away and noticed all the water in the bottom of the bowl :-( This also should be classified as a cake, not bars. Had I known, I would have only made one batch and divided it into 2 9x13's. The cooking time is WAY off. This took more than double the time it says. I had to cover it after 25 minutes because about 2 inches around the edges were done and the entire middle was still batter. It smells amazing and from what I tasted off the foil so far, it has a great taste. I don't think I will be using this recipe again though. Wish I would have read more reviews before I made 2 of them today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous icebox cake! I took the advice of others and used 1/3 c. oil and 2/3 c. applesauce instead of all oil. I used a 15x10 pan, baked for 30 mins. and used a favorite cream cheese frosting recipe: 1 c. butter, 1 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1 box powdered sugar and 1 t. vanilla. Frosts the sheet cake perfectly. Store it covered in the frig. Huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States