Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I incorporated a few changes that others suggested and the bars were great. I substituted apple sauce for oil and 1 cup of white flour for 1 cup whole wheat flour. I only used 1 cup of sugar but added a tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp allspice. I also added 3/4 C golden raisins. For the frosting I omitted the margarine and used only low fat cream cheese. Definitely makes a cake-like bar but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil and it turned out great! I also baked the recipe in a jellyroll pan (13x18?) to make it more of a bar and less of a cake. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Mills, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Not really sure how to rate these. I too had an issue with the cooking time. For one, the recipe needs to say to squueze the water out of the zucchini. It is not something that I use frequently by any means so I never thought of it until I already had mixed everything and went to put the rest away and noticed all the water in the bottom of the bowl :-( This also should be classified as a cake, not bars. Had I known, I would have only made one batch and divided it into 2 9x13's. The cooking time is WAY off. This took more than double the time it says. I had to cover it after 25 minutes because about 2 inches around the edges were done and the entire middle was still batter. It smells amazing and from what I tasted off the foil so far, it has a great taste. I don't think I will be using this recipe again though. Wish I would have read more reviews before I made 2 of them today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fabulous icebox cake! I took the advice of others and used 1/3 c. oil and 2/3 c. applesauce instead of all oil. I used a 15x10 pan, baked for 30 mins. and used a favorite cream cheese frosting recipe: 1 c. butter, 1 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1 box powdered sugar and 1 t. vanilla. Frosts the sheet cake perfectly. Store it covered in the frig. Huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Delicious!! I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and added cinnamon. I also baked them in a 15x10 bar pan instead of the 9x13 because I wanted them like a bar and not a cake. I also just used canned cream cheese frosting because I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
AMAZING!!! Loved these could eat the whole pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used 1/3c oil and 2/3c of applesauce (instead of 1c of oil) to make it a little healthier. For more flavor, I also added 1/2t of cinnamon. Also, it takes at least 30 min to bake if you use fresh zucchini. For the icing, I used 1/4c margarine and 8oz of cream cheese and it tastes best if you let it sit in the refrigerator for a few hours before icing the cake. Using the recommended amounts of margarine and cream cheese makes it very sweet and buttery tasting - using more cream cheese than margarine made it more like carrot-cake cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family totally loved this recipe. But, my husband did ask that I put nuts in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written. Very disappointing to say the least. Texture & flavor were both bland at best. Will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Too much oil, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States