Zucchini Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this pie is the best I've made 9 pies so far no one can tell it zucchini not apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I tried this for the first time yesterday and came up a little short. I should have measured out the sliced zucchini to get four cups instead of assuming that two large ones would do it. They only produced 3 cups worth and I didn't have any more. That problem was exacerbated by having a deep-dish pie plate. I will try again and probably use 5 cups of zucchini and a tad more flour to cut down on the runniness. I was actually afraid it was going to be too dry after the sauteeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Really does taste like apple pie. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made it with a cobbler topping and called it what it is. Zucchini cobbler. I also used a very large zucchini that I had used for bread and an Italian zucchini pie and still had some left. Everyone said they would have thought it was apple crisp if I had told them that's what it was. Served hot with ice cream and it was yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Myfamily seemed to like it until I told them it was zucchini. Never do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
For a Mock Apple pie (zucchini) I thought it was really good. I used yellow squash too. Actually thought it tasted better than some of the apple pies I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe, because I had some pattypan squash that I needed to use up. I didn't peel the squash, since pattypan has the same coloring as an apple, and I thought cooking it in the frying pan would soften it enough. When the pie was finished, it tasted wonderful, even though the peel had a little *crunch* to it. Next time, I'll either peel the squash, or just cook in the pan longer. Also, I didn't have any cream of tartar, but it didn't seem to make any difference. Just like everyone else said, it tastes just like an apple pie! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this pie tonight and it was AWESOME. Took some to the guys at work and they ate every bit of it up! Found out that it was zucchini and they were surprised -- they were certain it was apple! So popular the supervisor is going to supply me with more zucchini to make his family this pie! Didn't change a thing, but I did make the crust from scratch. This was my VERY FIRST attempt at making a homemade pie EVER, and I'm incredibly pleased with the results! Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Serenity Leith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peever, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Veblen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is 5 star pie.. I have been making it for years.. Instead of a top pie crust, I make a crumble, brown sugar, flour, oatmeal, etc and it's the best....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
OMG! This was the best pie I've ever had. Not only delish but so easy! I had to use 4 smaller zucchini's because that is what the market had on hand. I brought this to a 4th of July party and didn't tell anyone what it was. They all thought it was apple. It was gone in no time! My DH who is not a veggie person at all loved it. Once I told everyone they just couldn't believe it! I will be making this again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States